Humans logo

Kahlua & Coffee, Margarita & Johnny Vegas

"I Vow To You" By: Anonymous

By AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'm left here speechless yet with so many thoughts racing in my mind. I can't seem to remember what exactly happened the night him and I broke up because everything that followed was much more devastating. There were more times than I could count that I would drive to him and we'd repeat the same mistake every time: we'd ignore the fact we shouldn't be together. We created a fire within us; that instead of kindling, we fought each other with by holding grudges and taking revenge on one another. Towards the end of our relationship, I blamed myself for so much of what was never my fault per say, instead was just an outcome of accumulated factors between us. Which posed me to unleash the emotions - on myself and others, that I once buried inside to try to hide the hurt away - from a broken heart. Months, no, years, I hated myself for him leaving me and I destroyed every relationship around that ever mattered because I felt as they would all leave just like he did. Insolating myself and drawing deeper into my self-inflicted despair, my actions became more than I could bare. The weight of the world crumbled on me, crushing my soul each time I would recklessly drive to his house begging for his forgiveness. Pushing aside any self respect or worth, at any time of the night, I wouldn't care - I needed him then. I needed him so much that I lost myself in him. I was no longer me, I was only his ex. That's all I could see in my rose colored glasses struct with tunnel vision. I was no longer a human being; more so a: human suffocating, a human drowning, a human losing, a human suffering, a human waiting, a human hoping, a human yearning, a human dying. Never was I 'being' my own person - not after he left until recent. What I was being was unstable, unreliable, unsafe, uncaring, vulnerable, insecure, radical, irrational, all to say the least. Only because I couldn't accept that him and I didn't belong together, we were not good for each other in any sense. Back then, I loved everything about him, even the bruises he left and scars he formed, I still loved them because they were from him. Call me insane, I'll agree...because for him, I was. I didn't care if the 35+ minute drive to what was once our home, was wasted because he wasn't there, it was still worth a chance. Sometimes I question if I made any sort of impact on him, or am I just some other girl he checked off his list? He knows how I got too close to our fire trying to fight the flames, and now have a scar burned into my heart, for the rest of my life. The love I had for him, that is now buried somewhere in Pandora's Box, is what reminds me to never, ever, love that hard, ever, again. I stayed single for years and I still have yet to heal from the torture I endured by him. Some call it 'trauma-bonding' mixed with 'battered wife syndrome', while I just call it 'self-sacrifice'. I say that because I gave up everything I possibly could to try to make things work with him and in the end, nothing did. What I did do was ruin my safety, security, sanity, stability and salvation. Honestly, I drove past his house not too long ago and I begged God to release me from everything that's happened between him and I, not only for my sake, but for his as well. I forgive him, yet most of all, I forgive myself for allowing myself to love like nothing else mattered.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Anonymous

I'll say whatever I need to so that I can show you who I am.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.