Humans logo

Justice Is My Middle Name, Yes! I’m A Libran

Ticking off the Libran traits one by one confirms it

By Karen CPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Justice Is My Middle Name, Yes! I’m A Libran
Photo by Tingey Injury Law Firm on Unsplash

Okay, so I’m a Libran. It was interesting Googling Libran traits to see what others say. There are a number of differences on each site, but the list I’ve pulled together contains the most common traits that someone like me would/could/should have. And how fascinating it was to look at the list because there were so many of these things that I want “Yes, that’s me” and for some of them I went “No, way!” until I thought about them from a slightly different perspective.

So here goes, my Libran traits according to Building Beautiful Souls.

Balance

When it comes to standing on one leg in one of those fancy yoga poses, that’s not me. Sure if I work hard I can get there, but most of the time I just fall down. And does balance include eating chocolate every day? It could because I made chocolate a staple on my diet.

What does balance mean as it shows up in my life? It certainly is knowing the difference between feeling balanced and out of balance. In the past, I lived a life filled with stress, worry and anxiety. During that time balance was far from what I felt.

I knew that I wasn’t doing myself any favours at one level, yet working in the job I had and not knowing any different, it wasn’t easy to find a place where I did feel as though life was balanced for me.

So, yes, I definitely need balance in my life to be at my best.

Fairness

Oh, don’t get me started on this one. I’m that woman who yells at the referees on the TV when they aren’t fair to my team during the hockey game. Mind you, they don’t do anything about it most of the time when I'm finished yelling so I don't know why I bother.

Yes, fairness is something that I live by. I look at most things from the perspective of “Is that fair, or not.” And for me looking at things this way ties in with the justice aspect of what being a Libran is all about.

Is what has happened just or unjust. It is as if my brain is wired to automatically look at things from this viewpoint. Funny how that happens.

Amazingly sociable

Okay, so this was the one that I struggled with. They say that Librans are social butterflies. That’s not me. I’m the introvert who would much rather have a one-on-one conversation and steer well clear of very large crowds. I am guessing then that this side of me is more from my Rising Sign.

But, when I thought about the word ‘sociable’ then I began to say “Yes, that’s me.” I’m the person who moved into a whole new city a few months ago. I now know more than a handful of people in my local area by name. They are all the people working in businesses around me.

I’m the chatty person who will talk to them. I’m sociable. And I don’t mean in terms of having conversations just for the sake of having conversations, no, I am genuinely interested in who they are.

So, yes, I’m amazingly sociable.

Communication is one of her best skills.

This made me laugh. For the introvert that I am, I am 100% a communicator. I love talking to people. I’m a sharer! Sometimes in the past, I would share too much, but hey, we all learn, right?

I’ve been sharing through video and podcasts for a ton of years now. When I was younger, I had pen pals who lived overseas, and I used to write letters to them. When blogging became a thing, I had not one, but three blogs, all on different topics.

In school, I loved to research and do projects so I could share the information that I’d found. I talk to people whenever I can. It’s the best way to get to know them.

Funnily enough, I have recently flipped my career and am now working in communication, because communicating is what I love doing so much. And it wasn’t until I sat back and looked a how much communication and communicating was a part of all of the job roles, I have had throughout my career that I realized it’s been a big part of them all.

Would this ever have been where I saw myself or what I saw myself doing? No way. And yet, it is so satisfying because I love it so much and it comes naturally to me.

So yes, I would agree that “Communication is one of my best skills.”

Captivating, charismatic, energetic, easy-going, compassionate and loving

Hmmm, this list item was interesting to sit with. I’m going to agree that I am very much compassionate and loving. And easy-going, well… there were times when I was younger that everything needed to be planned, or else I would flip out and not be okay with the day. Back then I wouldn’t say I was easy-going.

Now, yes, I would say that I am very easy-going. I love life and go with the flow.

Energetic. Yes, I tend to have a lot of energy and can work hard on any given day. I don’t lie around a lot. There are too many great things to experience to do that, so I have plenty of energy to enjoy my life, however that shows up.

Now you will have noticed that I started at the end of this list. That’s because I can’t see myself as captivating or charismatic. You’d need to check with all my friends to validate those two things.

Perhaps this is another aspect of my rising sign that shows up for me. Being an introvert has me not want to stand out and be the centre of attention. That’s why it’s hard for me to consider myself either captivating or charismatic.

High level of ethics.

Absolutely. I’ve worked in workplaces where there have been things that ethically weren’t right by my standards, and I really struggled to work there. I left one place of employment because I didn’t agree with the way the owner was behaving ethically. Or perhaps I should say ‘unethically.’

Sticks to morals.

This goes hand in hand with ethics. I have a set of morals and I live by them. And that could mean that other people don’t always agree with me. Hmmm, where is opinionated on this list? Some people might consider that I am opinionated. That doesn’t mean that I won’t listen to their perspective and I like to discuss and debate issues.

So, yes for these last two items, that is definitely me. Just look at how many of the traits of a Libran I have ticked off as describing me so far? Pretty much all of them.

The next thing this website said was:

“Some days you will find her well, logical, rational, and altogether calm but when the need to balance these energies occurs, she might demonstrate mood swings, erratic changes in emotion, silliness, and a more relaxed presentation.”

This was interesting to consider. I can totally agree with the erratic changes in emotion piece. I’ve lived my life ruled by my emotions and often it felt as though I was on a huge non-stop roller coaster with them. Maybe that’s why at times it was so hard to find the ‘balance’ aspect they mentioned earlier.

My family would probably all agree that I demonstrated mood swings. They’ll have seen me happy and laughing one minute, someone said something and the next thing I’m in tears and wanting to bury myself in bed and not ever come out. Yet, when that happened, I would live through the emotion and life would right itself again. Back to balance.

Oh, and the words “logical” and “rational” are part of the essence of who I am. Altogether calm, now that I come to think about it, fits too. I stay calm when there is chaos. I’m the person who walks into a chaotic situation and brings order and calm to it.

There were so many days where that happened in my previous workplace. I’d walk in and feel the chaos. Then slowly piece by piece I would work with the team to bring order, to calm things down, and get everyone back to an even keel, emotionally.

Another tick for the Libran traits that I possess.

Resilient, unyielding, and strong

Ha, ha, ha, here is the stubborn part. They’ve called it “unyielding.” And yes I can say that I am each and all of these three things too.

When we had an unexpected death in the family, I stood strong and supported each and every one of my family members. I could see them all hurting. Was I hurting too? Absolutely, and yet I knew within myself that I was going to work through my grief and be okay. I didn’t see that as much in the others.

I can also be unyielding when it comes to having a strong point of view about something, back to the fairness and justice aspect, and be loud about what I see isn’t fair. So, yes I can be unyielding.

Then the site said this:

“When out of balance can be inflexible, stanch, and she may demonstrate a lasting level of stubbornness through the grudges she may otherwise develop.”

Grudges. Wow! I’m not sure that I would describe them as grudges, because in my world I give you ample chances to do right by me, and if you don’t, then you’re gone. I wipe you. Usually completely.

I don’t hold a grudge as such. I just decide that I don’t need you to be a part of my life anymore.

And okay I can see that if you did something that hurt me, then yes, I might hold a grudge against you.

Alright, so far there is nothing on the list that I disagree with.

I visited a different site to see if they called out any differences and this one stood out.

Passive-Aggressive

That used to be me 110%. And I say “used to be” because what I learned was that being passive-aggressive didn’t get me anywhere. I was passive- aggressive when I wasn’t speaking my truth about what I wanted. Once I realized that it was okay for me to want something and to ask for that, then I learned that I no longer needed to be passive-aggressive.

It was an interesting journey to travel. And one that has led to me having a much happier and more balanced life. So, maybe the negative aspects of my sign are the lessons for me to learn while I’m here in this human body.

The question posed in this challenge was “Does your personality and sense of self match your star sign?”

I am going to unequivocally say “Yes, it does.” There are times when I can see that certain aspects of being a true Libran are influenced by my rising sign. And at the moment I can’t confirm what that is because I checked two different websites and got two different signs back. It's a bit hard to then work with the traits of them when you can't confirm which one is your true ascendant.

I am a big believer in Astrology because I think that each time we come back to this Earth in the form of a human being, we are sent back with a different star sign to work with, and through, the traits the sign we are ‘born’ into exhibits.

It’s like our Souls journey to being the best and purest it can be is to work with and through both the positive and negative aspects of each of the two astrological signs give to us.

I'm up for the challenge and right now enjoying being a true Libran.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Karen C

I love writing! I'm a cat person, not a dog lover. Paper books over kindle. Walks outside over time spent in the gym. Australian by birth and proud of it. Crazy Colorado Avalanche fanatic. Hockey is such fun to watch.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.