Humans logo

Just a Simple Date

The Door into an Eternal Moment

By Keane Neal-RiquierPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Just a Simple Date
Photo by Dennis Buchner on Unsplash

There comes a time when you realize that you’ve spent years looking for something, in the high places and the low, following the big pointing arrows. And in these times of dire delusion, the obvious answer – the truest of them all – eludes us despite our best efforts.

It happens to the best of us really, perhaps it’s a trick of the gods – Cupid is just a baby with a diaper. Maybe it’s a masterful disguise of the universe because, really, you can only see the tip of your nose with the cross of your eyes.

Whatever the practical joke is, sometimes you just have to step back and admire the craft.

“A date?” The idea was so out of the air that her only answer was a repeat of the question. The two of us knew each other since we were kids. We took on the world back-to-back, but this? Through all this time, such an idea, well –

I continued, “yes, a date. Alaina, think about it. It makes no sense at all, so I must be on to something. You’re you, and I’m me. There’s about a 3% chance of romance.”

Even if it was out of confusion, the smile on Alaina’s face grew. Her eyes turned upwards, trying to find a reason otherwise but, “I can’t fight that logic,” she said.

“So, is that a yes?” I said, dipping my voice and extending it to the beat of anticipation.

“Yes,” she said. “But…”

“Ah, there’s always a but.”

“But it can’t be anything too big.”

“Okay,” I said. “I…I can do that. Yeah – something small.”

“Mathew. I know that look; you’re already thinking too big.”

“Who, me? Nah. I’ll keep it simple.”

“Last time you said that there were literally a hundred people at my birthday party.”

“Alaina, when have I ever steered you wrong?”

“Every. Single. Road trip.”

“I see the frustration. Simple it is.”

“Cross your heart?”

“And hope to die,” I said. “I shall be back at 6 to pick up the princess. I bid you adieu.” As I bowed out in my over-characterized fashion, the plans for the evening had begun.

It was October 12, and the autumn leaves of upstate New York were reaching their peak. The amber oranges painted the landscape as sharp reds accented the Adirondack mountains. This fall, unusually warm, sat at the perfect temperature with a cool breeze passing through.

Now, I admit, my definition of simple is not that simple. There’s the ambiance and mood, the lights, decoration, food, drink, conversation, and favorite color, pink. Simple is actually a complex arrangement if you think about it – just don’t think about it too much.

With everything in its place and ready to go, I was there right on time – 5:45 on the dot. I knocked. Then I knocked again. Third time – this one had to be it. And when she answered, her hair was still wrapped in a towel. “30 minutes – I’ll be ready,” she said with a toothbrush still sticking out of her mouth.”

We were still working on the vineyard at the time. I was surrounded by possibility. But I did what I said I would keep it simple: a horse ride, a big tree, a picnic, a sunset, and wine.

“That’s not simple,” she said when she finally came out to see me standing between our two horses.

“Au contraire! It’s only five steps,” I said—a grin from ear to ear.

There was a rare look of defeat in her eyes that I rarely see – the emotion behind which I can never pin down. Whenever I see it, my air of hope is that deep down – all the way down – in an alternate dimension, it’s because she secretly knows I’m right. But my better conscious tells me she knows her defense is so airtight that I haven’t a chance.

No matter the case – I revel whenever her nose pinches and those beautiful brown eyes squint…

And so -

We took our horses, Chestnut and Midnight, and we rode through the mountains and streams.

We got under the old maple, standing tall.

We laid out dinner and wine, and we had our picnic right there under the autumn canopy. Talking like we always did, enjoying our time together. To this point, my theory had been confirmed – no amount of romance could light that spark. But then –

“Why have we never tried this before?” she said.

“Well, there was Jared,” I replied.

“And Emmy.”

“And Jeff really didn’t like me.”

“Allison really stole your heart. But remember? There was that one time – “

“Oh no, I remember. But don’t you remember how stressful college was?”

And in the lull, we looked at each other in a way we never had before. For the first time, I didn’t just see my friend – I saw something more—the patterns in her eyes and the shape of her lips.

Whatever veil – whatever blanket of fog that had once laid between us, was pierced by the golden rays of that sunset. A moment, frozen in time, we laid there breathing new air.

And then, all of a sudden, as her eyes widened, she jumped up and ran to Chestnut.

“Where are you going,” I yelled out.

“I don’t know.”

There was no direction in her words and no sense to be made. But without hesitation, I jumped onto Midnight and raced behind her through the trees. I remember watching her as the curls of her brown hair lifted in a dance with the winds in a moment unbound by time.

She has a freedom I knew I’d never catch, nor would I ever want to. It’s a stillness, an image that has remained unchanged no matter what we’ve gone through. It was there in the sad times – when she lost her father. It was there in the good times – when she walked across that stage summa cum laude. It’s been there when we fight and when we laugh, cry or cheer.

And it was there when we first met, all those years ago, at the waterfalls. Just two small kids, never knowing what to expect of the world.

And it was there again when she led me back to those waterfalls that autumn day. When we finally stopped and stood face to face, it all made sense for the first time. We pulled each other closer and -

After 2 years, full of late arrivals and crazy plans – we’ve still been back-to-back, against the world. And as I look at her today, shining in her beauty, I get to know that I’m marrying my best friend. It’s a union that you can only find in true love.

Alaina, I love you more than I could ever put into words. And I don’t know what this world would be like without you, nor would I ever want to. The joy and the light you bring into my life go unmatched, and every day I get to wake up by your side, is a day I know I’m home.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Keane Neal-Riquier

Writing and storytelling have been a passion of mine ever since I was young. I look to dig deep into what it means to be human, and this is what you will find at the very core of my writing.

Website: atyourservicefreelancing.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.