Humans logo

Journal Entry 12/25/19

Read with caution :P

By Brittany DeWidtPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
(Picture is not mine)

Wow, okay. Where do I begin? This year has gone by in such a blur, I can hardly believe it is December. 2020 is just in a week? No. Surely it's still March or April. Maybe even September at best. This year has flown by and I still cannot wrap my head around it. It's also been a wild ride from beginning to end. I moved back home, I've been working. I got my license and a car. (Finally overcame my fear of driving!)I had a family member move out of their state and moved close to be with my dad. I dated, dealt with some dirtbags and guys who just had their priorities in all of the weird places. I laughed, I cried. I screamed and yelled and rejoiced. I got hurt and healed.

More recently, I got a job that I enjoy. I got bit by a dog- that was scary. And it wasn't a pitbull, either. I went ice skating with friends (first time in, like, 10 years) and I wasn't great. Not bad either. I just have terrible balance. The skates bruised my ankles, and I fell really bad once. I slipped, my legs went up, and I flipped my body so that I would land on my left side instead of directly on my back. My hands stung for a bit from bracing the fall, but my left hip is still bruised from the fall. My aunt passed away on the 23rd. They are still trying to find out how and why she died. It was very sudden.

That's all I can think of for talking about in the past to bring you up to speed. Today was good. I slept in and had fried rice for breakfast. (Leftovers from last night), and waited anxiously for my siblings to all wake up so that we could open our gifts. We are all adults (except for my brother- he's still in high school), but sometimes we can still act like kids. However, in the past we took forever to clean up the wrapping present mess after opening gifts, but this year we got right on it. It was nice to have it all clean after having wrapping paper pretty much everywhere. I like the gifts I got this year. A kitchen knife set that I have been wanting for a long time, soap, two different necklaces, my favorite lotion from Bath and Body works (Love: rose and vanilla), Mary Kay lash primer, Mary Kay lash and brow serum, Mary Kay ultimate mascara, and two cutting boards that look like the license plates for Maine and Vermont. To be honest, I was a bit surprised about the soap, but it is still a good gift. I like the knife set the most, especially since it has been on my wish list for years.

And I've just spent the rest of the day with the family and trying to not stress too much that people are still doing last minute planning for my sister's wedding that is next week. Like, I feel like this should have been taken care of months ago.

Anyway, that's all for now. Bye for now, more later.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.