Humans logo

It was always her

A husband abandons his family

By brenda sierraPublished 3 years ago 15 min read
2

Seeing the person you love the most, left in a blink of an eye to be with someone who he never stopped loving. You’re head is spinning; you start to break down and wonder, where did it go wrong? Looking back at all the wonderful times you both shared together, was it even real? How can you compete with his first love? You try your best to fight for your family but in the end you move on forward.

A couple weeks before the break up.

It was a sunny morning, early spring time. The birds were singing, the wind blowing a small breeze, coffee brewing while you made breakfast. “Oh yeah”, you thought. “It’s going to be a great day.” As breakfast was being served, your husband comes down the stairs with the baby. They were both dressed and ready to eat. Oh, how I love it when he helps with our son while I’m in the kitchen busy looking like a hot mess; What can i say? The married life, right? I loved seeing my husband in his suit ready to go into the office to work with important people. He loved helping people who were wrongfully accused in court. I guess you can say he’s the best in town. We have recently moved to Virginia and it is so different from Texas. It’s been only 7 months but it feels forever.

“Thank’s for breakfast Athena you’re the best wife ever,” he said while chewing his food.

“Oh Stefan, you’re just saying that because it’s a Friday and I’m positive you have something up your sleeve,” I narrowed my eyes at him.

“I’m serious! You’re the best honey. And well yes, I do have something to ask you,” he chuckled.

Rolling my eyes I responded, “What is it this time?”

“Could I hang with the boys after work for a bit? I’ll promise to clean the house for a whole week,” giving me the puppy eyes.

“I guess but only if you take the car and I take The Black Widow.” We named our SUV after the marvel character, Natasha Romenoff aka Black Widow. My favorite character. He still thinks we should have named it Black Panther but i liked mine better.

He took a long pause before he spoke, “Finee, I suppose it’s fair.”

“Thanks babe!” I jumped in his arms. “Now run along and get to work. Go make justice.”

Stefan just laughed and kissed us goodbye before he walked out the door. How did I get so lucky? I asked myself. A handsome man, great father/husband, provider, etc; It’s like I won the lottery. “I’m so lucky; I really hope Virginia is our forever home,” I turned to my son, “Now let’s get you to pre-school my love.”

After dropping off Joseph, I decided to invite my 4 best friends to my house for some girl time. It’s been a while since we got together and I really miss them. There’s Selene, Hailee, Elizabeth and Kaya. We’ve been friends since high school and no matter how busy we get, we always find a way to get together. They all moved to this area because they had great opportunities for work after college. Stefan had a job offer and I quickly told him to agree. I wanted to be closer to my friends. I was getting everything ready for the girls, so when they arrive; it’s drinking time! I started to get ready when the phone began to rang. It was Stefan. “Hey honey, what’s up?” In the background I heard a woman laughing and I started thinking, “What the hell? Who could that be?” I stayed a bit longer trying to recognize the voice but I didn’t. I started to panic and quickly finished getting ready to head out to his office, when the doorbell rang. “Oh crap the girls!” I whispered to myself. “I have to tell them about what just happened.” I sprinted toward the door, “Hey girls! I’ve missed y’all so much!” “Hey!” They all responded. We all hugged each other and walked to the living room. As we were sitting down pouring the wine, I began to tell them what I overheard on the phone.

“Shut up! Are you serious!” exclaimed Selene.

“I’m serious that’s what I heard,” I responded holding back my tears.

“Do you think he’s cheating on you?” asked Kaya.

“If he is, we’ll go and help you investigate,” said Hailee while drinking her wine.

“Exactly,” agreed Elizabeth. “You know damn well you can count on us.

“Aww, thank y’all my loves. I knew I can count on y’all to have my back. I guess I’m just scared to actually find out if it’s true, you know?” I said tearing up.

“Don’t think negative yet until you’ve collected enough evidence Athena,” assured Hailee.

“Thanks Hailee. You’re all right but what should I do?” I asked.

“Pretend you don’t know anything. Invite him to lunch and see how he reacts around you.” stated Selene.

“Call him right now and put him on speaker,” commented Kaya.

“We’re here for you and we’ll listen if anything is in the background,” added Elizabeth.

“Okay.” I picked up my phone and began to dial him. “Hey babe, are you free for lunch today?”

“Hey honey, I’m busy at the moment.(Giggles in the background.) How about a nice dinner? I’ll make sure I’ll have everything ready” he responded.

“Oh okay then. Yeah sounds great,” I unsurely responded.

“Okay honey I love you; bye see you later,” and quickly hung up.

“Was that laughing in the background?” asked Kaya.

“What the hell?” Selene said while drinking more wine.

“That was super weird,” commented Hailee.

“What should I do? Do I confront him or ignore it?” I said while crying.

“Go to dinner and just relax. Enjoy tonight and see how he reacts around you,” said Elizabeth. “Don’t think about it, because then it might ruin dinner.”

“Okay, i’ll do that. I’m so scared though,” I cried.

“No don’t cry Athena,” assured Kaya. Then they all gave me a hug. They all left after a short while because they needed to pick up their children. We all promised to be in contact before and after the dinner I have with Stefan. Even if I was nervous for tonight, they gave me the strength I needed for dinner.

By Alex Chernenko on Unsplash

Time was passing by and it was time to pick up Joseph. On my way there, I decided to pick up an outfit for my date with Stefan. No matter how many times I’ve tried to ignore the woman laughing in the back ground during the phone call, I just cannot get over it. What if he had been seeing another woman for a while now? Does he love her? Do I know her? All this thinking was making me have a headache. “I just want tonight to go well,” I thought to myself. It will be hard but I have to remember what my friends were telling me. As I arrived to pick up my son, I saw my husbands secretary here. I didn’t know she had a son as well. “She’s so beautiful and young; what if she’s the woman in the background during the phone call?” I asked myself. I wanted to approach her but I decided to wait. I didn’t want to jump to conclusions right away and my dinner with Stefan has to come first before I investigate more. I left as soon as Joseph was brought to my car. He had a great day today so he’s sound asleep.

Later that night.

Putting make up on

As I was getting ready for dinner, Stefan called saying he would be meeting me there after he’s done at the office. I was upset because, why couldn’t just come home and pick me up to go to dinner together. I really hope I get to the bottom of this; I don’t want to look like a joke. While looking for my shoes to go with my outfit, the doorbell rang. It was the babysitter arriving to help with Joseph. “Thank you so much Bianca for coming to help with the baby.”

“No problem Mrs. Salazar; I love being with Joseph.” she smiled. “Now where is he?”

“In the living room watching his show. You know how he is ha-ha,” I chuckled. “Well I’m going to finish dressing up; make yourself at home like always.”

“Thank you Mrs. S.” Then she walked towards the living room to keep Joseph company. As I was leaving, I said goodbye to Bianca and Joseph telling them that I would arrive by 9:30pm. I was approaching the widow when my phone received a text message: “Can’t wait to see you my love. Xoxo-Stefan.” I was super nervous but I was confident at the same time.

Dinner time

As we both arrived at the same time, we kissed and hugged outside the restaurant. I was so excited when I saw him but he look a bit distracted. Maybe it’s nothing, right?

“Wow Athena; you look amazing,” he smiled.

“Thanks honey,” I held his hand and walked towards the door.

We started talking about our day and how it was great to spend some time alone. We laughed, drank, ate and it was time to go home. We decided to call for a cab and just come back for our cars in the morning. It was just perfect when his phone rang. “Sorry honey, I have to take this,” he said. “Of course babe, no problem,” I replied. While he was on the phone, I turned around to face the window. I over heard him say, “Don’t leave me alone” and hung up. Confused I started to think, could it be the woman or someone else? “Sorry babe it was no one important,” he held my hand. “Now how about some fun time when we get home?” I didn’t want to respond so, I just nodded my head yes. When we arrived home, I paid Bianca and went straight to bed; I didn’t want to look at him. What if he was lying to me? I really don’t feel like arguing tonight. He climed to bed and just said goodnight with a kiss. Phew that was close, I thought to myself. I kept stressing about everything but eventually ended up drifting into sleep.

The next morning went like any other day except Stefan went straight to work before eating breakfast. Odd right. Whatever, I just focused on Joseph until it was time for him to be at pre-school. I called my friends and told them about everything. They wanted to come over to investigate more on how Stefan’s actions are being different. I didn’t argue so I let them come to my house. We actually decided to follow him for the day in Selene’s car. He went to lunch, work and to the court house; He then called me saying he was going to be home late. I had called the babysitter for the night so I can follow Stefan around. I was scared for my life to find out if my gut was right. Damn, was all I can think about but it was time to find out the truth. After him leaving the office, he went to someone’s house; I never seen that house before. When he approached the front door, a woman answered; his secretary. Why is it always the secretary? I started crying and my friends told me to head home. I wanted to stay and see how long he would be there; 2 hours. I called him to see what time he was coming home but he claimed to be still st the office; what a lier! I hung up and decided to go home. I thank my friends for being by my side but it was time for action. I couldn’t let him fool me anymore because I didn’t deserve this.

He arrived home but I was pretending to be asleep. He went straight to the shower and then came to bed. Stefan tried to kiss me but I moved away; I don’t want him touching me. I’m so mad at the moment i cannot think straight but I want to gather all the evidence before I file for divorce. I just don’t want him being with another woman but what can i do?

The next morning, after dropping off the baby, I went to his office to show up unanounced. I didn’t care if he got mad but I wanted to know more about this woman. As I walked up to his office, I opened the door; there she was! Sitting on his desk while he hugged her!

“What the hell Stefan!” I yelled. “Are you serious! Furiously, I threw her off his desk while I yanked her hair. “This is why you’re always staying after work?!” I punched her and before I continued, he grabbed me.

“Athena stop! Don’t touch her anymore.” He said while he held me away from her. “I didn’t want you to find out this way. I’ve known her since—” but before he continued I slapped him.

“You idiot! How could you? I’ve always been by your side after everything!” I cried. “Why Stefan? Why!” I kept hitting him. His secretary was just sitting on the floor touching her face where I hit her. I was furious. I hated him but before I left, I threw my heel at her and then I grabbed his keys.

“Athena wait!” Stefan ran after me. “Please wait; I want to explain everything honey.”

“Don’t. I’m going home,” but before I walked to the car he grabbed me and kissed me but I slapped him. “Don’t you dare touch me.”

“Babe, I’m sorry,” he cried. “Please let me let’s go home and I’ll explain everything.” Before we left, his secretary came running after him.

“Really Stefan you’re not going to stay with me?” She begged. “Just leave her like you said you were. You promised me.”

“Kara not now. Go back inside.” He pointed at the building. “I’ll deal with you later okay?” She didn’t argue but narrowed her look at me. Oh, how I wanted to smack her again! They’re so annoying. I can’t stand it! I jumped out the car and took the black widow home. Stefan followed me home and kept begging to explain everything to me. Finally I gave in.

“Start from the beginning,” I spoke. And so he did. He said that was his first love who broke his heart and how he never stopped loving her. What! Is he insane? Why would he still love someone who broke his heart? It makes no sense! He is an idiot!

“Where does that leave me? I thought you loved me?” I cried. “Was everything a lie to you?”

“No babe, I love you but it was always her.” He faced the floor because he wanted to avoid seeing my face. “I never thought I would see her again and honestly it brought back all my feelings back.” He tried to hug me but I stepped back. “I’m really sorry you had to find out this way, but I really want to be with her. I’ll stay at a hotel and I’ll come back for my things later. You can have the house and the SUV; I’ll come back to see Joseph later.” He walked out the door; not even caring what I felt.

I ran to our bedroom and packed all his things. I wanted him out of my house and my life but I don’t want Joseph to suffer. I waited for Stefan at the house after I picked up the baby. When he arrived, he saw all his stuff by the front door. Stefan came into the kitchen with a paper filing for divorce. I didn’t want to sign it but I can’t fight; I’m tired. So I signed and asked him to always keep in contact for Joseph’s sake. He promised he will and walked out the house with his belongings. I cried that night and I couldn’t sleep knowing he’s with another woman. I was furious, hurt, sad, etc, you name it. Just why? I thought we were a happy family but now I see it was a lie.

Months passed by after the divorce.

I was in a happy place, focusing on myself and watching Joseph grow. He would always ask about his father but he hasn’t been heard since the divorce. I kept trying to reach out to Stefan to contact Joseph, but it was always an excuse. No matter how much we tried, he never answered anymore. Eventually we never heared from Stefan again and that was okay. He decided his new life was more important than his own son. I did hear he remarried and started a new family but I’m not bothered. I just hate seeing my son hurt because his father decided to abandon him. What a jerk. Joseph did not deserve this.

I now know that Joseph is the only one I should be worried about. I sold the house and ended up moving back to Texas. We have a nice small house with a puppy as our new best friend. I still keep in contact with my friends and even plan to visit Virginia one day to see them. Looking back, I guess it was never real but I love my son. I’m happy now and who knows maybe I’ll start dating again when the time is right. Maybe this time I’ll find someone who actually loves me for who I am. I mean there is a cute guy at work, but that’s another topic we can talk about later.

The End.

divorce
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.