Humans logo

It's Not All About You

by: Nerissha Hunt

By Nerissha HuntPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Some people are so high-minded. I call it a God-complex. I say that because some people feel that they are superior to others. Its pure selfishness. Some people need to realize that its not all about them. It’s about others as well. What gets me is this “if it wasn’t for me factor.” Well guess what? There are a lot of people that are thankful that it was you but there is no need to throw things up in people's face as a constant reminder that you helped someone. That’s upsetting.

If you do something for someone, you don’t have to talk about it. Sometimes people don’t want to ask for help, especially from the “if it wasn’t for me” person. One other thing that gets me is when people act like they are so holy and sanctified. If only walls could talk in some peoples’ houses. Some of these same people that we think are like that, are the direct opposite. No one has been saved all their lives. True, we all know there is a heaven and hell and that God is real, but be honest, we have all made mistakes and done things we aren’t proud of so why judge the next person?

Another thing that irks me about the “if it wasn’t for me” people is gossiping. I’m gonna make up some names here as examples. Well you know that Jane’s house rent was due. “If it wasn’t for me”, she would have been evicted. Nobody needed to know that Jane couldn’t pay her rent. That’s between Jane and you. Why do people feel the need to gossip? I mean, what’s the benefit? Talk about something that’s going on in your life for a change.

Of course, ya’ll know that I have poems for every situation, especially this one. Here is one I wrote about gossiping.

Choose your Words

Yakkity yak, is all that we hear

Somebody is always up in our ears

With some information they got from somewhere

It’s a reversal game of truth or dare

They dare to speak what they believe is true

They speak but so much just to see what you will do

You think to yourself, I need to watch my reaction

I want no parts of this, not even a fraction

Action speak way better than words, a fact that we know

We also know that we reap what we sow

The person's name that you throw dirt on today

May be you tomorrow so watch what u say

People can change, we all have a past

Consider a person's feelings before u put them on blast

I truly wonder where this mindset of “if it wasn’t for me” comes from. To be honest, I think it’s a mental thing that people have actually programmed in their minds that they feel like people absolutely have to bow down to them every time something in their lives comes up. The superiority goes further than just monetary help. It happens job-wise as well.

Here’s another example: getting a job. A person with seniority, meaning 10 years or more of experience, trains the person under them. Well, the opportunity for a bonus presents itself. The person with less experience gets the bonus. Well, “if it wasn’t for me”, Jane wouldn’t have gotten that raise. These types of people really need to sit down and take a look in the mirror and realize that there is no “if it wasn’t for me.”

We all need each other in life, some way or another. It should never be a “if it wasn’t for me” because we all have spiritual gifts of some sort that God has given us. He didn’t mean for use it against someone, throw it up their face and make them feel bad. So, there is no “if it wasn’t for me”, it’s a “if it wasn’t for God.” Let that sink in.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Nerissha Hunt

Writing is not a talent; it's a gift. My stories are transparent. Not fact, not fiction. They are in a category to themselves.

You never know what to expect.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.