Humans logo

It just sucks to be me...

Sometimes it really just sucks to be me

By AbikaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
2
It just sucks to be me...
Photo by Rosie Kerr on Unsplash

"Your strongest weapon is Hope, Hope says everything will be just fine".

Today is one of those days I just want to say what's on my mind. Have you ever had those days when everything was going right? Then, the next day it feels like everything is just going wrong no matter how hard you try. Well, today feels like one of those days. It doesn't matter what I try to do, everything I touch even the words I say just comes off wrong. That's when I just hit me like a truck, "It sucks to be me".

Let me share a surreal story about 2 children I witnessed a few days ago. Friday was quite sunny though we are currently in December, so I decided to take in some vitamin D. While enjoying the warmth from the sun I heard two children playing not far away. it looks to be a brother and sister pair, they resemble a lot not to be. What caught my attention was the boy which was younger than his sister hesitantly moving around in the play area of the backyard.

That's odd! Usually, they are making entertaining the neighborhood with their games and laughter. But today was just off. If you ask me it looks like he was afraid to do anything. Think back to my childhood days, the only time I was so timid was after I did something naughty and knew lashes or some form of punishment was coming soon. Though they were close, I could only hear pieces of their conversation, but I did pick up on the sister saying to her brother "It sucks to be you".

Now I was left in complete awe at those words. That statement took me back to the days when it was just my older brother and I. Being the younger child and a girl at that I thought early I could have gotten away with anything. That was until about 5 or so when I got my first set of spankings. I couldn't remember what I did exactly, but I knew once mommy found out I was going to be in a lot of trouble. So much so, I will lash.

So I did what every child would do when they realized they are about to be spanked. I got out of the sight of my parents but not in hiding, too afraid to do anything but stand there are meditate on the punishment coming soon. My brother was with me and all he said was it sucks to be you. That was after he gave his lecture on all the times he warned me not to do whatever it was I did.

Now I was wondering what was it that this child could have done? He looks no more than 6 years old. At 6 years old, my brothers made lots of mischief. On that extra-long list, there isn't a problem that will warrant a face of doom and damnation. Then again at that age, everything was a big thing and can lead to lashes.

Don't you wish you could go back to the days when your biggest worry was about getting a few lashes if you broke a plate or didn't do your homework? Looking back life seemed much simpler then. Ironically, then we couldn't wait to be older to do all the grown-up stuff. because grown-ups get to do whatever they wanted. What we didn't know what the responsibilities and consequences that came with adulthood. Now that we are adults, there are times we wish to go back to simpler days. Days when the biggest problem was about getting lashes.

The way of the world is like this, after one time comes another. At each stage of the life cycle, a person should be given the right to enjoy life according to their age. Each stage is important to learn certain values and lessons that will help through adult life. Like the situation with the boy right now. If 1 stage of this life cycle is skipped for any reason that person is left deficient of a vital part of themself.

Even though bad days suck and days when things don't go according to plan may be the absolute worse. You can deal with it! Just allow the anxiety and anger to subside then fix each problem from beginning to end. Think of it this way. The lashes you would have gotten as a child are equivalent to the anxiety and anger after you do something wrong. The voice of your mom telling you to fix whatever you did wrong is you fixing a solution to whatever went wrong. And the feeling of accomplishment after solving the problem is the same when you are rewarded for fixing whatever you just got lashes for.

I hope you all can relate to this. It doesn't matter how much the day may suck or how often you may think it sucks to be you. It is how you fix the problem and overcome obstacles that make up stronger.

Thank you for reading. Please subscribe to my page for more and contribute to Vocal+ by Joining Vocal media Now.

By Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

humanity
2

About the Creator

Abika

I started writing because it was my way to vent. Now I absolutely enjoyed writing and sharing.

I also write at Medium, find me at:

Medium lisby230.medium.com

Twitter Healthwise94358280

facebook peppingyourstep

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.