Humans logo

Is It Timing, or Not Meant to Be?

The One Who Got Away

By Amanda RochelePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

The evening I first met you, I had eyes for others, but it seemed as if you only had eyes for me. I remember seeing the one I was wanting to talk to walking into the bowling alley, and some random guy I didn't know walking behind him. He sat down beside me and you across from me. I remember him taking some of the food I was eating, and if I remember correctly, you thought you could too. That evening I had gone to the bowling alley specifically hoping to see him, and what I got was left alone with you. I had told him that I had just recently became single, and at that point, he looked at you, smiled, and ran off. You made me laugh right away; "Well, this is awkward... I'm ___." You introduced yourself and I knew right then, I wanted nothing to do with you...

A couple days later, another guy I had my eyes on invited me and my friends to a rodeo. We, of course, said yes, and I would have gone with or without them.

Now this is where it got confusing and took me a while to realize what was going on. My childhood friends were twins and both in relationships. One had a military boyfriend and the other was still around our small town. The guy I had eyes on was your good friend, and I never thought that would be the case. You showed up to the rodeo with him, SURPRISE! That entire night, you had your eyes on me, I had my eyes on your friend, he had his eyes on my friend, and she was in a military relationship who couldn't care less about your friend.

It wasn't until a couple days later that I realized how cute you were. Oh the way you could make me laugh, and the way I smiled when I was with you. We somehow exchanged numbers and spent that entire summer falling deeper and deeper in love. You would come up to the pool where I worked with my best friend, and you would bring your best friend. The way you made my days, clipping my lifeguard float around me in my chair when we weren't busy, figuring out where I was one way or another just so you could tickle my side, oh and we can't forget our skype nights.

I couldn't wait for the day that my lips touched yours. But it never came. Once you went back to where you lived, you quit talking to me. And it wasn't until after your basic training in the military that you started talking to me again. That was a year and a half later. That was the most confusing year and a half of my life. And to this day, I stay confused. I begged you to let me end my relationship one day, but you told me no. That it would be better for me to stay in my relationship because he was here and you were about to leave for the other side of the country for your military duties.

That was a summer that I will never forget. I know you won't forget it either. Occasionally when we speak now, you tell me that the stupidest choice you've ever made, was letting me go. You have told me that I am the one who got away. Well guess what, you're my one who got away. We share so many memories, more than I can count on one hand. Just know that we have had terrible timing so far, but I will always love you.

love
Like

About the Creator

Amanda Rochele

Writing is a fun past time for me. I love coming up with new things and I can make things seem real. I have had a lot happen in my life, but with the way I write, no one will know what is real and isn't. I don't even use my real name!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.