Humans logo

Is it a crown or a tiara?

by V. Marie Millan

By Vivian Marie MillanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
4

IS IT A CROWN OR A TIARA?

The difference between business and casual wear

By V. Marie Millan

I’m new to this site and felt the need to write this.

I can guess what you're probably thinking. This is a plea for my "fashion passion", right? Perhaps, in a way.

I have been in outside sales for close to 20 years. We all act, walk, think differently depending on how we’re dressed. We dress for different occasions. Some of those occasions may be weddings, funerals, graduations and the like.

We have often stressed over the “first interview” outfit. Should I wear a suit? Pants?

For the ladies - a dress but that comes with its own pitfalls, right? A little bit of cleavage says I’m playful and might go out for drinks after hours but too much may say I’m the office slut...

California casual with jeans, shirt, blazer? Socks? I could name so many combinations but we’ve ALL been there!

One of the things we can all agree on is we’ve all been under stress. Stress is a universal condition. It has its own facial features and body language. It’s personal, it’s in the workplace, it’s reflected in our family situations, our friendships. Hell, it’s reflected when we are unexpectedly first in line for coffee and we don’t know what we want!!

We can be dressed to the nines and still feel underdressed when asked an unexpected question or presented with an awkward situation.

Wouldn’t it be great if we had something to hold onto that reminded us of how awesome we are, that we’re not imposters, that we truly belong where we are?

I found the answer not on top of a mountain in Nepal or in a volcanic cave in Iceland. Just a weird website that empowered women.

I purchased a tiara and found the will to write again. The sentence that I just typed is filled with more emotion than you will ever know or I can ever express!

When all you can do is hang onto every insult rather than a compliment, you need a tiara.

The tiara I wear on a daily basis is called my Stress Tiara. Sure, people look at me a little weird but this keeps me in check, gives me back my confidence, allows me to do business in the manner and professionalism that is required.

Not many people ask but those that do I have a simple explanation: “This is my business tiara. You should see my Cocktail Crown!” I open my phone and show pictures.

Empowering women and allowing them to express themselves in any way they see fit is such an important enterprise. I will be 56 this year. I have found my love for writing again, for whimsy in the world, for creativity, for fun and building yourself up unapologetically.

Please help support my fashion passion for business crowns and tiaras as well as everyday headwear that helps each individual maintain their stability and individuality in our diversified community no matter how they identify. The website is www.getbullish.com and is quite female empowering.

Although there are many offerings such as mugs, pencils, apparel and the like there are offerings that support the LGBT community, courses and coaching to learn how to stick up for yourself (non-violent of course!) and a bunch of other cool things that help get you through the day. But I highly recommend the tiaras! And, as an outside salesperson, there is an offering of ridiculously motivational pens that I will be leaving with all my clients. We need little bits of sunshine like this. And who is gonna forget a gorgeous 56 year old confident woman with a business tiara, right?

Because I identify as a strong, positive, female mom and grandma who still has a lot to offer in this life! Peace!

humanity
4

About the Creator

Vivian Marie Millan

I recently "found" my creative side again. Life had beaten me senseless and I thought my story writing self had disappeared forever!

All of a sudden, "she" showed up out of nowhere!

Thank you in advance if you enjoy anything I write!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.