Humans logo

Influence in Action

Social Media Influencers Can Be Our Future Role Models

By Jennifer ChristiansenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
12
Influence in Action
Photo by Carol Magalhães on Unsplash

Today’s influencers epitomize a sea of change. They are, in a sense, our present role models – both good and bad. With the last two years being even more reliant on technology as we distanced ourselves from face-to-face relationships, this trend is even truer.

People are not being influenced by in-person connections – at least not to the degree we once were. And as the younger generation looks to search for social group leaders, technology is oftentimes the place to go. Whether it’s watching what an influencer is doing or just trying to find an escape, kids are finding those relationships - and creating their own identities - through social media.

Building a sense of self is especially critical for tweens through those in their mid-twenties, but everyone wants a sense of belonging to a group. As soon as we “follow” someone, we enter a group of similarly-minded people. And even though we may never have met any of these people IRL, the bond provides us all those wonderful feelings that stem from fitting in.

Are influencers here for the long haul? Yes, for sure. Is this a little bit scary, especially if you have children? Perhaps. But parents can use open communication and monitoring to filter out the not-so-positive influencers. It's essential for young people to be taught the value of critical thinking, so they will be able to effectively navigate the cyber world.

An emerging shift is that influencers aren’t just trying to sell products and make money, but they are becoming agents for social change. It can be difficult to find role models in this media-saturated world, but you have to sift through a lot of dirt to find the gems. And there are many sapphires, emeralds, and diamonds to find.

A multitude of positive influencers have crossed my screen in recent years, and a few have personally changed me in some way. In an earlier piece, I highlighted Tabitha Brown (Instagram handle: iamtabithabrown) – a social media influencer who entered my world at just the right time. As I took the leap from pescetarian to plant-based, she provided me the necessary tools and recipes to cook delicious vegan food. And equally important, she taught me not to be too hard on myself during the process.

Since then, many other plant-based influencers have helped me expand my cooking skills. I have to mention Richa Hingle (Instagram handle: veganricha) as a favorite. Her Indian kitchen recipes are healthy, delicious, and easy to prepare.

A lesser-known social media role model that has really got me thinking, learning, and acting is Immy Lucas (Instagram handle: sustainably_vegan). Yes, this “hometown hero” is also a vegan, but more than that – she is a proponent of a low-waste lifestyle. Her posts include everything from recipes and healthy habits to tips for living a minimalist lifestyle. This young woman is a bright, positive example in the sustainability movement for all ages (she even has posts targeted directly to teens).

Even though I have been aware of the concepts that Lucas lives by, it’s only been as I grew into my thirties and forties that I began to make significant changes in my lifestyle. I didn’t want to be a “do as I say” person but rather a “do as I do.” From writing letters to the editor, attending protests, and lobbying politicians about plastic use to switching to reusable water bottles and utensil kits, the work began for me. And as an educator, I created lessons around the 3 Rs – reduce, reuse, and recycle.

But by following people like Immy Lucas, you will always learn and be inspired to do more.

One of Lucas’ posts hit me hard - one where she mentioned “self-worth based on stuff.” While I’ve never been a person collecting designer brands, jewelry, and fancy cars, I do buy a lot of new items (especially household items) online. This is an area that I need to work on.

While I try to purchase brands with a purpose that are cruelty-free and use more environmentally-friendly materials, I acknowledge my creation of excessive waste. A few recent habits of mine can be partly attributed to following Immy Lucas and other like-minded social media influencers.

Lucas’ blog post entitled “100 THINGS TO REUSE AND REPURPOSE YOU HAVE TO TRY!” provides creative ideas to reuse jars, plastic bags, and other containers. And I’ve already incorporated several into my life, such as keeping glass jars from store-bought items and reusing them for leftovers. These tips have been especially helpful since my neighborhood no longer allows glass items to go out with the recycling. As a last resort for excess items, it’s off to my county’s purple containers to drop off the glass, which is then crushed and reused for county projects.

Fairfax County's Glass Program

Another new discovery for me, after pondering on sustainability issues, is the Buy Nothing Project. This project was founded by two friends, Liesl Clark and Rebecca Rockefeller, who realized that much of the beachscape around them was washed-up plastics of every shape, color, and size. They spent years studying plastics and learned that they come from each of us and wash down our watersheds into our oceans. So they began the Buy Nothing Project “in an effort to stave off pervasive plastics in every ecosystem on Earth by encouraging each of us to Buy Less and share more.” If you check your neighborhood apps, such as Facebook or Nextdoor, you may find a local group as I did. Members post items no longer needed for free pick-up on porches or curbsides. The idea is to give by offering goods or services you’d like to share, loan, or hand out. You can also ask for items that you’d like to borrow or keep, which cuts down on having to purchase new things. And as I stated earlier, this is one of my personal action plans.

A barrier to people making the choice to become more sustainability-focused is the belief in having to achieve a level of perfection. I’ve also dealt with this notion in becoming plant-based. Small changes DO MATTER in reducing our impact on the planet. If you’re not sure where to begin, Immy Lucas provides a free, 50-page Low Impact Challenge workbook on her website that is a perfect place to start. She states that “through our actions, we can inspire others by simply leading by example, in a non-judgmental and kind way.” And she does that in spades!

Even though we have the opportunity to find in-person mentors, we cannot deny the impact of social media influencers. The closer your actions align with how you want the world to be, the better you will feel. With a little sifting, you’re sure to find some positive and authentic role models to educate, inspire, and motivate you to achieve your purpose for the good of all.

social media
12

About the Creator

Jennifer Christiansen

Animal advocate, traveler, and bibliophile. Lover of all things dark and romantic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.