Humans logo

In Defense of Human Rights for Everyone

Truth and Justice Above All Else, No Matter Who's For or Against It

By Lisa WallacePublished 4 months ago 4 min read
Like
In Defense of Human Rights for Everyone
Photo by Christian Lue on Unsplash

I admittedly knew little about Benjamin Netanyahu before October 7th. The first press conference I watched with him a few days after, I immediately noticed that he called the hostages a priority and his mission to destroy Hamas the top priority. I also heard the coldness in his voice when he casually stated that there would be significant death, including Israelis, but it was necessary to destroy Hamas.

He Wears His Character Proudly Like an Emperor's Robe

A few weeks later, I read an update from Doctors Without Borders, a non-profit organization I support. There was a video of a doctor pleading for help and gas to save the patients, including premature babies, in their care when the Al-Shifa Hospital siege began. The next day, I woke up, and communication was cut off. Netanyahu told the media they offered the staff the needed gas, but they refused. I won't bore anyone with the details of everything we know now because we can all read about what happened online. But, the second I saw the article that morning, I knew that man was a pathological liar.

Much to my surprise and disgust, with a quick Google search (typing Benjamin Netanyahu lies), I discovered that his record of lying and backstabbing was documented, even video-recorded facts going back nearly 30 years. There is NO excuse for anyone, especially the U.S. president, to say they spoke with Netanyahu and he promised this or that. No reason for any news source serious about what they do to share news articles based on his distorted reality and documented history of hate for Palestinians. NONE. The world is watching genocide in real-time, and millions of people are dying and suffering more than any human ever should. They are murdering and traumatizing young children and babies! The U.S. government is using American taxpayer money to assist and fund it.

Pay No Attention to the Man Behind the Curtain

I'm a legal writer and experienced with research, but I have no special privileges. Everything I find is available to the public. I've collected unclassified and declassified government records regarding meetings and conversations between U.S. presidents and their administrations, going back to Bill Clinton about having issues with Netanyahu. He lies to get what he wants, does the opposite, and then laughs about how easy it is to manipulate Americans. Again, this is documented history, not my option. There are international charges against Israel regarding Geneva Convention violations going back for decades for many of the same atrocities they continue to carry out today while blaming the Palestinians for their despicable actions. The U.S. government pretends they know nothing of the history and pretends to trust the Israeli government and Netanyahu.

By Dania Shaeeb on Unsplash

People will continue to support the president because they fear Trump getting re-elected. "Saving democracy," and all of that, whatever that even means anymore. But I had serious reservations about voting for him in the first place because of his history, and now I'm pissed off. So, sorry if my words offend.

I learned the details and extent of the charges South Africa filed against Israel, and then I saw a post that said everything we feared Trump would do is happening right now under Biden. Suddenly, these words flowed from my fingers. They'd been rolling around in my head, bothering me for months, even if I hadn't spoken them out loud to myself or anyone else. My loyalty has never been to any politician because of the party, principles, and values they pretend to care about. It has never been more apparent how little that actually means to any of them. How little the U.S. government cares about its citizens or what they stand for. Whatever is happening has been coming for a long time, and it has nothing to do with freedom and justice or the American way. It has nothing to do with keeping anyone, anywhere safe.

Small Mental Health Breaks From Reality

By Humphrey Muleba on Unsplash

I keep taking small breaks from the internet and reality, hoping I'll return and there will be improvement. It keeps getting worse. The Israeli government also continues making it more challenging to get away from the lies and absurdity by carrying out its massive propaganda campaigns in the United States. Which is not normal, by the way!

There is nothing rational, logical, excusable, dignified, or human about any of this. It is all for the benefit of the corrupt and greedy "leaders" so set on their mission they seem to be in a trance. Those responsible, including U.S. politicians, will face judgment in time and be remembered for their actions in history books. The truth is easy to find for anyone who wants to see it. As for me, I'll choose compassion, integrity, empathy, human rights, justice, and truth every time, no matter who or what is leading the war against it.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Lisa Wallace

Writer, author, and human rights advocate with an innate and life-long passion for speaking out for the oppressed.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.