Humans logo

If I Saw You on Sunday

love letters to strangers

By Susana's WorldPublished 3 years ago Updated 12 months ago 5 min read
2

There are two facts you should know about me. I have not traveled the world over nor can I stake claim to any sort of "infamous fame" other than my own life's journey to live free and transparent in the face of my maker.

The only two things I have ever done in this life ( which hopefully made a difference wherever I've stood) is purposing to love well and to notice others.

Because of this - over time - at least one person was changed. Me.

It has been a simple agenda and brought great peace even when I stumble. And I stumble a lot.

In the spring of 2011 my husband and I carved out a physical space of time and traveled to the pueblo of Sayulita, Nayarit, Mexico - some 45 minutes north of Puerto Vallarta.

Me (an artist) and my husband a painting contractor stepped onto the playground of a local escuela, volunteering to create a mural. Little did we know every spring over the next 10 years would find us leaving the comforts of our home in Washington State for 2 months to exchange our water boots for flip flops and walk open dusty roads. Creating wherever we were led.

We spent our days wrapped in colorful paint, children and laughter. We spent our evenings sipping cold beer on the beach talking about life; of how far we had come and about the future.

We watched a thousand sunsets wash the sky in front of us while making friends with locals and learning that what they say is beautifully true; the language of smiles and touch equals love and really is universal.

Because we were present with no distractions from our home land we were able to show up more easily to each of our days and in the end bring new understandings back with us when our time had ended.

Over the years enough moments like those transform a person. Now no matter where I am on any given day - no matter where I'm planted - I can feel myself fully engaged. And when I do feel myself slipping away, I have recall on the dusty streets where I held onto my market produce and walked in the steps of locals, living out their lives under blue skies and sunshine.

It is on those days I hold onto the edge of love until I'm stable, so I do not slide over to distraction in my corner of the U.S.A. that seems to prey on my emotions to focus on the opposite.

I kept a journal over our seasons in Mexico; writing down the bones of my memories, experiences, thoughts and people we met along the way. It was in my 7th year of writing when it came to me that perhaps I should write a book to sell as a fundraiser for one of the schools we painted at.

I knew the book would be about two things, much the same as my journaling: Time & People.

Taking time to love well and notice others only happens when you actually decide to take time for another. And although this book was about the experience of leaving Washington State again and again to live this out, what I know now is you don't have to leave home at all.

You can begin right where you are, in your own corner of the world.

It does not happen overnight. It is a purposeful lifetime journey as our days pull us in a million directions. But when we each take our last breath it will either be our biggest regret or our greatest legacy to those left behind.

The point will always be, time is not your friend if you wait.

The book would eventually be titled "If I Saw You on Sunday" created after a poem I once wrote.

I have always loved Sundays. They have taken me to places both hushed and joyful where I've glimpsed moments of what it might be if we lived in a world of pure love and acceptance.

I wonder If I Saw You on Sunday would I look into eyes of brown, of blue?

Would I see?

Would I let you tell me stories from far away where love was met along dirt roads?

Would I listen? Would I hear?

Would I take that moment to hold your hand and know you for the first time?

If I Saw You on Sunday?

It all began with a series of interviews - 14 souls I had met throughout the years. Simply strangers that became friends. Essentially that is how all friendships begin, yes?

When I began the writing process I quickly realized they were turning into love letters from me. Thus, this book about a diverse group of people I just happened to meet one after the other, who so graciously spent time with me impacting my heart and life, came to be.

I wanted them to understand how my personal time with them and this magical country had quieted places within me which I had allowed to get noisy. That true reflection engulfed me - inward and outward - showing me anew how the spirit sees us all.

I wanted them to know and feel my words. In black and white.

We are laughing, crying, fearful, dreaming, needing, wounded, joyful, loving, struggling, healing and beautiful souls. And each heart can learn from the other when willing to lay down differences and see we are in this life together. Really, just separated from birth.

And so the book did become about what matters anywhere and everywhere, Time & People.

It is ironic to me how the pandemic brought about time we all complained there was just too little of before and how often I saw and heard it used destructively, with angry words and actions against people, after.

We are better than that. My hope is still that we are better than that.

Look around in your corner of the world at family, friends, neighbors or strangers. I hope you will take time to see them again with new eyes and recognize as humans that we share a basic common ground; we may not remember what someone says or does but we will always, Always hold onto how they made us feel.

Wouldn't it be lovely to tell them now, while there's still time?

If I saw you on Sunday, I would tell you.

Salud

Thank you for reading!

If you enjoyed my last book "If I Saw You on Sunday" which was a fundraiser for a school in Mexico, I am currently working towards another book of my collective writings and have joined Vocal to help with the cost.

If you enjoyed the story enough to feel like adding to the "Tip" jar for my next endeavor, thank you & know I am ever grateful!

If you are here just simply enjoying a read, I am ever grateful for the support.

Please feel free to sign up for notifications on any new stories with your email. Safe & free!

Salud!

advice
2

About the Creator

Susana's World

It is here I write about things that matter to me, and perhaps to you.

My words journey backward, forward and in-between, musing at this crazy but still beautiful world I was placed in.

For now.

Time is precious, so thanks for joining me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)about a year ago

    ❤️

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    What a wonderful story about love, caring, and sharing. As a writer you have a calming voice with compelling experiences to share. A lovely combination. Thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.