Humans logo

I Was Called the Mistress...

Even Though I Wasn't

By Kayla PiercePublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Impromptu Engagement Shoot, Thanksgiving 2017

If I'm going to talk about my relationship, I guess I better start from the beginning. I was hired on at my local Walmart as a part-time produce sales associate in June of 2016, and exactly one week later, my husband was hired on at lawn and garden. We actually would have been hired on the same day, but our orientation was the same day as his high school graduation; therefore, he had to reschedule. So over the next couple of months I would see him clear across the store and want nothing more than to be able to talk to him and get to know him and all that other cheesy stuff you think about when crushing on someone. Very soon after working there, I found out the over-night produce associate I had been talking to about everything in life was his DAD! Coincidence? I think not. GOD HAS A FUNNY WAY OF DOING THINGS LIKE THAT!!

Anyways, I of course found out his name about the same time I found out who his dad was, and of course the first thing I did was stalk his Facebook. Duh. Sadly I then found out he was engaged :( I put the thought aside of ever actually getting to be with him. Every now and then I would see him in the break room, or at the time clock because he normally came in close to when I was getting off. One day I just couldn't take it anymore. I wanted to talk to him. I had to talk to him. While he was just standing at the time clock watching time pass literally, I said,"The more you watch it, the slower it goes." He let out a small giggle, and I melted. From that point on, he says I never left his mind. No matter what he did, he could not stop thinking about me.

Roughly around January 2017, he moved to the department next to mine, and I received a huge let down. After working with him for almost a year, we sort of got to know each other, but I could tell there was so much more to him than what he led on. He told me now that back then he would desperately be trying to get over me, but he saw my personality and more of who I was, and he fell for me. But nothing happened for two very big reasons: he was married and I was no longer single.

Let's be clear though. His relationship was complete sh*t, and I put on a good front. In small talk, he would tell me that his wife treated him horribly and if it didn't quit, he would leave her. He had been praying about what to do for months, and always told himself that when the time was right, he would leave. Around September 2017, after weeks of debating, he left, and it just so happened to be right when I left who I was with. That same day he had asked to go on break with me, and to my surprise, he told me he had feelings for me. He went home to tell his then wife, and well things weren't pretty. After a about a month, myself and him actually did start dating. We were inseparable and through him I found out, while at divorce court, she was trash talking me out the wazoo; calling me his mistress and saying he was a cheater and all sorts of things. For the record, we didn't even start dating until he had filed for a divorce, and that was my choice. Nothing of the sort EVER happened while he was with her, but because his ex likes to run her mouth, I became the bad guy. I became the mistress.

divorce
Like

About the Creator

Kayla Pierce

Wife to the most amazing man God could give me.

Mother of the two most beautiful girls.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.