Humans logo

I Want You Forever?

Redefining "always and forever"

By Vitak CheavPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Art: Soulful Pizza, kMoN

I want you forever.

It doesn't mean we're stuck together. It only means there is no point for me to look for someone else because I have you. If The Fault in Our Stars ever taught me anything, it's that you could give someone an eternal amount of happiness within a mere number of days. And you, my love, you gave me forever the moment I met you.

I want you forever.

It isn't because you're destined to grow old with me. It only means you're one of the only reasons I woke up today. And every day I shall choose you, reliving that perfect moment all over again. This place has lights and colors, but I could see them better with you.

If one day you had to leave, I'd want you to make it brief. All I want to remember is the strength you've given me. All I want to believe in is the part of you that lives inside of me. I would suffer greatly, but every time I cry myself to sleep, I would also be thankful for this heart-wrenchingly beautiful melancholy.

The moment we cry in a film is not when things are sad but when they turn out to be more beautiful than we expected them to be. ― Alain de Botton

I want you forever.

It's not because you solve all my problems and love everything I love. It's not because my happiness is entirely dependent on you or yours on me. It's not even because you cannot deal with the world's tragedy on your own and need someone to help you feel worthy.

It's not because you like my favorite movies. It's not because your parents like me. It's not because our peculiar friends think we're great together. It's not because you complete that half of me or make my life better. It's only because we choose each other without so much as conditions, expectations, or warranty.

I want you forever.

It's not because I cannot fall asleep with a swimming head and a thundering heart at the thought of you. It's not because you love me first. It's not because you wait for me for twenty long years. You don't need to prove anything to me. You don't even need to prove that you won't leave. It's already more than enough that I am right here in your warm embrace. It's already more than enough that we are at the finish line of this race.

Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it. ― Rumi

To most, "forever" is only a form of insurance that a person wouldn't have to be alone in the long run. We don't want that kind of forever. Our lover is not a product that comes with a lifelong warranty. Our lover is not someone to be endured, exploited, or compromised for eternity. Our lover is a free spirit, one that chooses to fly right back into our arms at the end of every single day. Our lover is not here for benefits or any interior motives - they're simply here to stay.

"Do you love me?" I once asked. There is to need to ask for love. There is no need to beg. There is no need to feel so much pain caused by what you call "love". There is no need to make sure that the love is still there - because if it does, believe me, you can feel it. If it does, you won't even need to understand it. You know I love you for you. Nothing else could even begin to describe that.

I want you forever.

It doesn't have to mean we would be together until the end of time. It only means my love for you would never die.

love
1

About the Creator

Vitak Cheav

Author | Creator | Entrepreneur

Founder of XFINITE, an award-winning platform to enhance youth's creativity, confidence, and connection.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.