Humans logo

I thought you were quiet

Everyone has an opinion

By MarieMarie Urban Published 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Omw back to campus

I thought you were quiet"

A month before move-in, I received a large white envelope enclosed with campus brochures, a list of all orientation events, shuttle bus departure to and from campus and a fancy, thick, off white page signed by the dean 'herself'. I read tediously, "Welcome Freshman 2010! I sincerely look forward to meeting all of you in person for orientation…" I then realize a small piece of paper the size of a sticky is paper-clipped neatly upon the back of the letter.The words in plain bold lettering say,

"Dormitory Assigned: Cuma Saint Lude

Roommate Assigned: Adaego Adebayo

Floor Two

Room Assigned: 210"

Toward the bottom provided personal email address of my roommate, who I discovered shortly after emailed me as follow-up. She also typed her Facebook name in assurance I direct message her. She naturally led the conversation and asked general questions about where I was from, my choice of major and phone number. By Wednesday of orientation week ( because class started on Monday) I overwhelmingly learn a few things about Adaego. And in this order. She is a biology major and lives with her mom in Silver Spring, Maryland. Originally born and raised in Nigeria her father passed when she was three years of age, which spurred her mom to move to the United States 'with some money' her father left behind as a successful engineer. She works six days a week as a retail agent in TJ Maxx and does math tutoring on Sundays to make extra money through work study. Regretfully now she works lesser hours than when she was in high school but her boss agrees to allow her leniance as she is 'full time in school'. Dare not touch her exotic caramel bar soaps (she carries home from work), clothes (she leaves scattered on her bed), braiding hair (she also leaves unattended on her desk area like a mini island), laptop or mini fridge of (home cooked meals wrapped tightly in aluminum foil as to tell whether I opened or not; which I've learned to cope with her birdlike eating habits at night. I don't even have to bother looking over my shoulder from bed because well..the loud opening of aluminum foil mean she's back. And just like clockwork she's in bed by eleven after two hours of study.) Sleep is very important to Adaego..I clumsily let go of our dormroom door handle a second too quick, and I trip over her 'work shoes' as I make my way to bed with..the.. lights.. off. "Marie?" Adaego removes her eye mask and sits up. "Wow, you went out?" I crouch relieved (to return in one piece) on the edge of my bedside, "Yes. I met a group of girls and decided to go out with them." Adaego pauses to rub her face and stares at a nearby street light from out the window. From where my bed is located, the light directly beams from the back of me providing shadow. "How was it?" (I really just want to shower and go to bed before class. Why are we talking, espiecially with her tight schedule?) "I had fun." She says, "You know you got class, right?" (I look up from removing my shoes quietly, also very thankful she's unable to see the smirk on my face.) "I know. Just wanted to try something different." She says, "Well..I wish I could go out if I didn't have to work so much. Work, work, work. That's all I do. Work. But hey, hope it was worth it because class is like a few hours away." As I discreetly remove my clothes from behind my closet door, I overhear scuffling throughout the hallway and a loud knock, "Marie!" Tanya and Khadijah fight over a bag of chips as Lala screeches "Marie! Marie! Girl you in there?" Adaego leaps to her feet and answers the door. Yet, Lala invites herself inside as Khadijah and Tanya giggle, eating aloud a bag of cheese puffs. Lala's hoarse, cigarette deprived voice echos the room, "Guuuuurrrlll.. we heard you beat Kristen..and she took Blue's car!" (I pretend to be in shock.) "Really?" " Yeah gurl, but we were worried if you made it back."( Oh, now they worry.) Adaego flickers the light switch on, "Are you crazy?! It's too late to be this loud.." Lala takes a minute to size her up, and continues to talk to me.) " Uh, yea guurl, we glad you made it back..Darrel ain't try nothin' funny wit chu' did he?" (My roommate is fuming.) "Oh, no, no. Helped me drive and that was it."

" Well. Me and Tanya will be up in Khadijah room if you want to talk..We goin' to Ibiza tonight. If you want to come. Just knock." (I nod my head and as they leave I continue to undress.) Adaego couldn't wait to say, "You hang wit' them? They're so loud, oh my goodness." (She scratches her head beneath a puffy bonnet in annoyance.)

"Yea, they're cool."

" Oh my goodness Marie. I thought you were the quiet type."

" I am quiet."

"Listen, Marie..I know girls like that. And I can tell you're not like them."

"Like what?"

"Y'know. Loud."

"What's wrong with being loud?"

"You hang wit' them any longer you'll flunk first semester."

" Adaego..Who I hang with has nothing to do with you. I'll be quiet if I ever come home late when your sleep. Please keep in mind im very considerate of you." ( I say surprised I could openly get pissed off. This is new.)

" Okay. But please be quiet next time you come back late."

" No, problem."

As I walk the hallway to shower, I wonder if Ibiza is a person or an actual place. Regardless I'll swing by Khadijah's room after class.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

MarieMarie Urban

Thus finally a website that incorporates music and story-telling! My mind exactly on auto pilot!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.