Humans logo

I think I like swimming.

Since childhood, I have always been a dry duck. When I was little, I lived in Sichuan and never went into the water at a young age, then I went to the vast Xinjiang for three years of elementary school, three years of middle school, and three years of high school, and one year of college.

By Linda T HarberPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
I think I like swimming.
Photo by Gus Ruballo on Unsplash

Since childhood, I have always been a dry duck. When I was little, I lived in Sichuan and never went into the water at a young age, then I went to the vast Xinjiang for three years of elementary school, three years of middle school, and three years of high school, and one year of college. It was only after I came to this school in the sophomore year that I came into contact with swimming, and I was quite excited when I first heard that swimming lessons were being offered here.

The day I entered the swimming pool for the first time in my life, I was excited, expectant, nervous, and apprehensive. I was a little embarrassed to see so many people and myself in a swimsuit, so I did the preparatory activities with great effort, stepping on the ladder to get into the pool when the cold water made me very uncomfortable, and it took me half a day to adapt before I slowly soaked in the water. The buoyancy of the water is very large, so that my feet on the bottom of the pool feel unstable floating, not at all on the ground that solid feeling, others swimming when the fluctuations generated by pushing me, can not stand. Although the water is not deep, I am very insecure, my mind came up with a stormy boat in the rough sea tossing and swaying the terrible scene, which should be the human survival instinct at work, the unfamiliar water environment so that I am used to the land environment automatically turned on the warning function. So, I found a corner to stay, wiggling and soaking for a long time to finally adapt to the buoyancy of the water, and then put on the goggles and began to practice floating. Head buried, relaxed body, straighten legs, very simple floating action, after I float a lesson, hold the breath to hold the head is almost swollen finally can barely do a good, but must hold the rod to do, but also considered a great harvest, I finally took the first step to learn to swim!

The students here in the freshman year have already begun to learn to swim, while I and my roommates who came to learn together are only the first contacts with swimming, we are too far behind, so we will go to practice swimming when we have the opportunity, from every few days to go once gradually become every day to go. There are two students in the dormitory every time they can swim to teach them, so they learned first, I and the other one know fewer people, in addition to occasionally asking the teacher has been in their fumbling. The two learned first and then very enthusiastic to teach us, I in their guidance to change the previous wrong method, but also mastered the skills of swimming, but still need more practice in the water to become proficient, another roommate every time you swim are nervous tense whole body, but also always learn not to change the air, so we are teaching her, but also let her in the dormitory with a basin full of water to practice changing the air, she does not mind our fierce She didn't mind the way we supervised her practice, she was very cooperative and practiced very hard. The dormitory sisters work together and help each other to supervise this period is unforgettable, together to pack and go to the pool, together in the water to see if everyone swims right, together the exhausted seem to walk back to the dormitory, together to wash clothes, using the guessing bag hammer to decide the order of bathing, we are tired and happy. For more than a month, we were all tanned and had obvious sash marks on our backs, but we all learned to swim, and that's the most important thing, tanning is a floating cloud~.

Today is the day of the swimming test, that is, the day to test the results of our hard practice, I and the first two learned to complete a successful 50 meters, leaving no regrets. The one who learned it late went to the pool outside the school alone yesterday to practice for a day, and finally found the feeling and learned to change air, but she only learned to swim completely today she has been swimming about 40 meters, you know she could only swim a dozen meters the day before, yesterday she could swim more than 20 meters, and today she insisted on swimming 40 meters! I was shocked and touched at the same time, we all saw her hard work, and this is the result of her efforts, I am proud of her! It's a pity that if she doesn't swim 50 meters, she can only be considered to have swum 25 meters. I don't think this scoring rule is reasonable, but we can't change it, so I can only hope that she can grasp the second chance next week to hit 50 meters and get a perfect 100 percent.

On weekdays when we are in contact we swim until the end of the pool opening hours and return to the dormitory exhausted, today we just went down for a 50emeter swim, so I came up feeling a little unfulfilled. The water today was quite clean, clear enough to see the lines at the bottom of the pool, and there was no one else to disturb me when I swam, so it was very quiet. I could enjoy swimming in this blue world, feeling the coolness of the water flowing over my body, listening to the singing of the water splashes in my ears, the water gently pushing me forward with the movement of my hands and feet, the peaceful and soothing feeling gave me an indescribable enjoyment, I felt like I was one with the water, creating an illusory feeling of returning to the mother, and it was at that moment that I felt I liked I feel like swimming, swimming can make my heart calm down.

Human feelings about water are complex, water makes us awe and fear, but also makes us feel kind and peaceful. I like the blue color most, the blue pool may also be the reason why I like swimming, but what I love more is the blue sea, I have not seen the sea with my own eyes, only from the pictures I have seen those mysterious dreamy blue ocean, that or deep or clear blue has my deep love for the sea. In my lifetime, I will see the blue sea with my own eyes and say "I love you" to my gentle and cranky lover!

love
Like

About the Creator

Linda T Harber

Love to read, love to create, love to live

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.