Humans logo

I Should’ve Jumped Out of the Vehicle When I Had the Chance!

Everything in this story sounds so wrong but is so true. So grab some popcorn, get cozy, and read about #myworstdate.

By RosaleyPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

It was the summer of 2013 and I was sixteen. My friend had invited me to an LGBTQ dance along with a mutual friend of ours. I was beyond nervous that I would see somebody I knew there. But my friends had talked me into going. There was no turning back! We arrived at the dance on time and as we walked in I saw the most beautiful girl (we’ll call her M). She had long curly brown hair with big brown eyes that stared straight into my soul. When she smiled, it was like all of my problems were no longer relevant. We spent the whole night getting to know each other. Then she gave me her number and we texted through out the next week. Plans were made for me to go over to her house and her family would pick me up! I was beyond excited! Well, at least until they arrived...

They pulled up in this van and out pops the father along with a girl around my age. The mother and the youngest sister stay in the van. First thing the father asks is, “Where’s your bathroom?” My mother shows him while I wait for M to get out of the van. We stand outside talking for a bit while we wait for her dad. Her dad comes back out and asks my mother if I can have alcohol. My mother thought he was joking, but she still said no. Somehow she still let me leave with these people.

Fast-forward to 2 miles down the road. I’m sitting in the very back with M and all of a sudden we hear police sirens. The father who’s driving is oddly calm. But out of the blue I hear the mother say, “Thank god nobody knows me in this county.” We pull over, the officer walks up and asks the father if he’s had anything to drink because apparently he wasn’t staying on his side of the road. He passes a sobriety test and we go along our way. It’s a bit of a long drive and we stop at a house about halfway into the trip. All of a sudden the father looks back at us kids and says, “If I’m not out of that house in 10 minutes, you leave with out me!” At this point we’re all freaking out. So what seems like 10 minutes pass when we see him running back to the van. He told us all that the guy owed him money and we have to leave before he wakes up from his unconscious state and the police show. We’re all freaking out and crying. Then he decides to tell us he’s joking. What a great joke!

Finally we arrive at the house! There was one problem though... it was really muddy and the van couldn’t make it up the long driveway. So we had to push it in the dark. Turns out the father has a heart problem, but he’s still out pushing. Now we’re in the driveway. We all shuffle into the house AKA trailer and I’ve got to pee first thing. I ask where the bathroom is and they tell me if I have to pee to go outside. Mind you, we’re in the middle of nowhere and it’s pitch black out. So M gets me a flashlight and we venture out to the back of the house where I pop a squat. She tells me when I’m done to wash my hands off using a spicket outside. Come to find out there’s no running water in the trailer. But I’m too tired to care at this point.

Bedtime comes and I pass out. I wake up the next morning to arguing. M and I walk out to the kitchen where we see both parents bickering over their father/father in law. Apparently there had been an old man sitting in a rocker in the corner of the trailer all along and I somehow just now noticed him. And they were arguing because gramps was over their lighting a cigarette while he had his oxygen going in this trailer. You might ask why I hadn’t texted my mom to come get me... but I didn’t want to worry her. Although after seeing that old man appear and everything else I decided if be best if I beg my mom to come get me. It took awhile to get cell reception where we were. I had to walk to the end of the road just to get one bar, but when I got ahold of my mom and she came to get me, you bet your ass I was in that car telling her to go!

I never did hear from M again after that. It’s probably for the best though. #Myworstdate

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.