Humans logo

I now pronounce you self and self!

I married myself on 11/18/2020. Here are my vows...

By NicoPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
It's just my nose ring :D

I was going through old emails and I found a letter from when I married myself. Yes, you read that right.

Exactly a month after my 27th birthday, the year I always considered my forever age, I decided to write some vows and get downnn... with myself.

Although no it was not officiated, it was very official to me. I even sent my niece a video of it and said "no context lol."

It is a message of intent to my higher self, the most authentic version of me. I believe in marriage but I know there's a level of love that no other being can provide me. Its both the scariest and most exciting truth I've discovered yet.

Here is what it said, word for word. Maybe it inspires you to commit to showing up for yourself too...

*************

Dear _____ (I have a special name I call myself, its not to be revealed),

I have so much I want to say to you, and I'm not sure where to start, but my intention is that these words speak the whole truth, from my heart to yours.

Truth 1: You are beautiful, both inside and out. You move with a gentle curiosity, grace and intelligence that you don't always flaunt but you nurture. I am in awe of that.

Truth 2: You are Divine - this is the only way I can explain the magic that you bless the world with. Your talent, your big heart, your insight… you seem to always be exploring and expanding. In many ways I can't keep up, but I try my best.

Truth 3: You've been through so much, you don't even have to say it. Your strength, endurance and motivation is intense/something else. Sometimes you move like you have something to prove, but I wish you could see how complete you are. From this side of the lens, you already proved that you're 1 of 1; 10 out of 10.

Truth 4: I can tell you have big dreams, and I am here to support you through it all. In fact, the rest of this letter is my proof that I will be here to support you however you need.

See most people think marriage and they want to "lock it down." I can't do that. I will never trap you into my limited perspective of who you are or who you can be. Clearly you are here to do God's work, and that requires a capacity beyond small minds. I just want to be by your side to provide for you the way God has positioned me to.

I ask for you to unite with me. With this [proverbial] ring, I promise to:

1. Create a safe and secure home for you to be free. Free to create, to live, to share your hopes, dreams, fears and nightmares. To love and be loved. I will do this by:

  • Bringing in stable income from multiple different streams/revenue sources.
  • Work with you to create a plan on what legacy we want to leave for the world.
  • Make sure we are both physically, fiscally, mentally and emotionally ready before beginning any new journey, including starting a business or family.
  • Moving with integrity: Being open and vulnerable as much as I can. No secrets or guessing. You will always know where I stand, once I do.

2. Love all parts of you. Not just the ones that I am familiar with, that I laugh/chop it up with but even the sides I don't see or often understand. I promise to give space for you to unfold exactly how you see fit, while reminding you of my loving presence.

3. Encourage you to grow in mind, body and spirit, in ways that best benefit you and not my own self interests. I will be your accountability partner for all your goals without shaming or guilting you when you fall short. I will celebrate your wins as if they were mine.

4. Defend and protect you from anyone or anything that threatens. End of story.

5. Aim to be the best version of myself. Not just for you but for myself as well, and ultimately the longevity of our Union, co-created/orchestrated by the Divine.

These are my promises to you. It is already well with the Universe, I just need your permission. The things we've been through recently have taught me that I will be down for you forever (and ever ever, and ever ever?!). I love you and I can't wait to spend the rest of my existence in your presence.

Will you commit to me? To Us?

Love,

Nicholette "Nico" Shenelle Fortune

-- Nonconformity

love
Like

About the Creator

Nico

Multitalented artist; UFO

suspended in an infinite canvas

breathing poetry

disrupting matrices

exhaling magic

...with a smile, of course 😘

[okay only sometimes 🙄😅]

Site: nonconformityart.com

IG: nonconformity_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.