Humans logo

I moved to another country for my now ex-boyfriend

It's a mistake, if he/she really cares about you, he won't make you choose - tb

By Juliet MahalPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
On my flight to follow my now ex-boyfriend

For those of you who think that it is hard to start from the beginning when it comes to dating or finding the right companion then you are wrong. Especially if your dreams are not coming true or you are being stopped from growing individually.

I have met a lot of people who get married at the age of 19-22 because they think that they will never find the one if they leave the relationships they are currently in.

Let me tell you my story..

I have met this boy at work when I was 21, I had just recently went through a breakup a few weeks before. I was naughty and wanted to have fun after my previous relationship because I felt good being free. Then this guy came along, we started dating and often sleeping over at each other's places.

Then I moved in to his flat after just 2 months of knowing each other. I then realized that I did not actuallly know him until I moved in with him. You know the saying, you dont truly know someone until you live with them. We bacame exclusive and started being together, it was all fun and games until the honeymoon part gradually faded.

This guy convinced me to go to his uni to take my masters degree in Events. I knew that he really wanted to be with me and move forward into relationship in a more committed serious level. I being a softy, did not want to hurt his feelings and said "okay, ill go to your uni to study my masters."

But the doubts of following him and being settled especially not knowing a single soul really affected me. I was constanly looking and asking for reassurance that he won't fuck up, cheat on me or basically waste my time moving all the way to where he is from. The doubts and seeking for reassurance lasted for almost 9 months or so (thats how long we lived with each other).

Unfortunately for some other reasons I ended up not going to his uni or taking my masters degree at all. I actualy got a job offer in Dubai.

The arguments started, the doubts about our relationship would come up and since he still had one year in uni left after our internship where we met he himself do not have a choice to move to Dubai for me.

I brought up the idea of doing long distance but he said we either be together which means I go to England or go take the job in Dubai and break up. He said that if we were to do long distance then I would be the one to give up first. I would be the one to cheat.

I stupidly declined the job in Dubai and went to follow him in England. I spent about 1 month with him and my world felt like it was falling apart because I was not doing anything but literally just waiting for him until he finishes in uni everyday.

How could I follow this person when he did not even think of me in the beginning? He did not think that I am my own person as well and wanted to do the things I want to do. He made me choose between him and my career.

That is when our relationship fell apart. I resented him. He reminded me every day of the fact that I am not doing what I love because he made me choose between our relationship and him. I lost a great job or career opportunity that would help me grow as an individual and learn so much.

So then I left him one day... he got home and did not find me there. I then got my shit together and realized what I really want in life. And that is to be me. Not being told what to do by anyone. Especially the person I love stopping me from reaching my dreams.

If someone loves you, they will encourage you to be you, they will push you to reach your goals and celebrate with you. They should not stop you or make you choose. They should not make you doubt. You should not be doubting yourself. Do not move somewhere for anyone. Move somewhere because it is for you and no one else.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Juliet Mahal

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.