Humans logo

I'm Not Your Typical Gemini

I'm Not a Cookie Cutter Gemini

By Bryan R..Published 3 years ago 4 min read
7
I'm Not Your Typical Gemini
Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

I've been a Gemini all my life.

I entered this world in the first week of June, almost 50 years ago. When the Gemini Challenge posted, I believed myself qualified to write about the topic, especially since I've been a Gemini for almost half-century. As I skimmed the work of prognosticators and their synopses of those born between May 21st and June 21st, I have come to the conclusion that I am an exception to the generally accepted traits of those born under the Gemini Zodiac Sign.

Geminis are supposed to be adaptable

According to astrologists, Geminis are supposed to be easy going and flexible, able to change plans with little or no notice. I definitely do not meet that criteria. I plan projects and programs weeks or even months in advance. I find myself frustrated and even angry if unforeseen circumstances dare interrupt the countless hours of work I've invested. I personally find my comfort in the status quo and consider "change" a four-letter word. (Well, it's six, but you know what I mean.)

By Samantha Gades on Unsplash

Geminis are supposed to be outgoing

I find this trait interesting. In high school I considered myself a wallflower and enjoyed the company of only a couple of friends outside of the school setting. In college, I emerged from the introvert cocoon and exemplified the definition of "outgoing." I chalk this up to the influence of my closest friends who were social butterflies, and I fed off of their enthusiasm and energy for life. Now that I'm 25 plus years out of college, I find myself content spending quiet nights at home with my family. In fact, I considered one of the pluses of the pandemic the opportunity to distance myself from crowds of people and the hustle and bustle of life. The desire to be the life of the party disappeared decades ago.

By Austin Distel on Unsplash

Geminis are supposed to be intelligent

Finally, a characteristic that might possibly be pertinent. I've been considered moderately intelligent since elementary school. I rocked the spelling bees and was the first to recite my multiplication tables through the 12's in 3rd grade. As I aged, school progressively got more difficult. I learned that math and I don't get along, but I held my own in English and History. Though some suggest it's not uncommon to observe Geminis cuddled up with a book, and I do love reading, but I'm just as happy watching a suspenseful movie or the Mighty Ducks on Disney Plus. Learning comes in various forms, right?

Geminis are supposed to be indecisive

I can relate! I know all couples joke about the struggle of choosing a restaurant, but as a Gemini, I really do. When going out, I urge my wife to choose the destination. Something as simple as choosing between Chinese Carry-Out or Chinese delivery, might necessitate an hour long conversation with my wife. Well, maybe that's a slight exaggeration, but being indecisive is a definite characteristic of mine.

Geminis are supposed to be impulsive

Once again, this doesn't describe me. I like things to be planned out and orderly. Any variation from the plan forces me to have the vapors. About the most impulsive thing I've ever done is order a Quarter Pounder instead of a Big Mac...and that was a last second decision.

Geminis are supposed to be unreliable

I consider myself quite reliable. If I tell someone I will do something, I do it. If something interferes and prevents me from accomplishing the assigned task, I lose literal sleep until I can make it right. People know that if I commit to something, that my word is good.

By SCOTT FLEMING on Unsplash

Geminis are supposed to be nosy

I serve as an associate pastor. Through the years I've been told more secrets than I will ever remember. Believe me, I don't care to be nosy. The lesser I know, the more peaceful nights of sleep I enjoy. With this supposed trait of nosiness, it is claimed that Geminis may not be able to keep a secret. This is wrong in my case. The reason people bear their souls to me is because they know I keep a tight lip.

So, after completing a few moments of soul searching, even though my birthday falls under the Gemini sign, I find myself only pseudo-Gemini in characteristics and traits. And if we're all honest, there's probably a little bit of every Zodiac sign in all of us. A smidge of Capricorn...a dash of Leo... But that makes perfect sense, since we are all designed by the same Creator.

humanity
7

About the Creator

Bryan R..

Husband. Father. Music and Youth Pastor. I enjoy writing as a hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.