Humans logo

I'm Needy

So what?

By Hannah York Published 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Finding a good match, especially in terms of a relationship is hard. Trust me, I've had my fair share of bad relationships, but I've also had good ones. The bad ones were bad for a plethora of reasons, but the good ones were good because of good communication and honesty. Those are, truthfully, two of the best things to have in a relationship. If you don't feel comfortable enough to honestly talk to the person you are with, then what's the point?

Being honest, however, isn't always that easy. But being tough doesn't make something not important. The things you have to fight hard for often turn out to be worth it in the end. I sometimes have a hard time being honest when I first get into a relationship, not only because trust is a hard thing for me, but also because I know that I can be really needy. I like attention, and I like being wanted, and I have to feel wanted in a relationship for me to want to stay in the relationship. Being needy is often seen as a negative thing, and I've had people make me feel bad for it all my life, but I'm starting to realize that's it's not necessarily a bad thing, as long as I am honest, and can communicate that with my partner.

Communicating what I need isn't always easy without coming off as too much of a commitment. But honestly, it's not that hard to be there for someone who is needy in a relationship.

1. A simple text every once in a while to let the needy person know you are thinking about them can go a long way.

I don't need to be talking to my partner 24/7 by any means, but every once in a while, I don't want to be the only one starting the conversation. I want to know that my partner is thinking about me and WANTS to talk to me, even if they only have a quick second to send a quick text or five minutes to chat on the phone really quick.

2. Mood swings are a common occurrence.

I can be so happy one second, and then the next second, I am an emotional mess. Sometimes my different moods last only a couple hours, sometimes a couple weeks. Having someone who understands that and can adjust the way they react to me is so important. It doesn't require much, just someone who can be harsh with me when I need it, bring me back down to earth when I'm floating too high above the clouds, or be gentle with me when I'm feeling particularly vulnerable.

3. Insecurities can affect even the strongest person you know.

They can be hard to overcome, or they can be as simple as just a little validation every once in a while. Similarly to the "I'm thinking about you," validation can be as simple as a quick, "Hey, I'm glad you're in my life." It can remind the needy person that you are thankful for them, and having them around isn't a burden or annoyance to you. Even if your partner isn't feeling insecure at the time, it's still bound to put a smile on their face, so a little validation every once in a while is a win-win.

4. Show me off.

Not all the time, but don't be afraid to let other people know you care about me. I love showing off the people in my life, and I know it's another needy trait, but I really love other people showing me off. I like when people feel proud to know me and have them in their life, and I guess it may just be another form of validation that a lot of needy people like having.

Being a needy person can be annoying and hard to deal with. I get it, trust me. But just because it's annoying doesn't mean it's a bad thing. If the needy partner in a relationship is able to openly and honestly communicate what they need, then it's only an uphill climb from there; and the view from the top is absolutely breathtaking.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Hannah York

On 06/14/2016, my cousin committed suicide, and there were a lot of unanswered questions. After that, I decided that I didn't want to leave anything unanswered, so this page is a place for me to write anything and everything on my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.