Humans logo

I Lost a Great Friend to Marriage

The story of how a life-changing friendship had left

By Don Anderson IIPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image by Holger Langmaier from Pixabay

We all meet people in the most unexpected places possible and then some amazing friendships are made. Sometimes they elevate into something romantic or the friendship reaches a peak and you both are practically family members to each other but in my case, although I had a few friends who became family, I had a lot of friends that were tragically lost. This is the story of how marriage caused me to lose a specific friend of mine.

This all dates back to the end of 2014, I saw a cute gal in my creative writing class in college. I didn't know her or anything, I just knew that she was super cute. Her hair was short and curly like Selena Gomez's hair but the gal's hair was a little shorter and curlier, she wore a leather jacket with a black t-shirt and I think she wore dark blue jeans with some flats. She wore red lipstick that day as well, I believe, she looked like she was going to be in a remake of Grease or something.

I didn't know who she was until 2015 when we started talking more but I knew about what happened between her and a friend of mine. I won't say what exactly but all I will say is the library at school. Anyways, after things didn't work out between my friend and the gal, some months went by and I found myself not going to school because I failed a class but we did end up adding each other on Facebook. The gal, we'll call her... Maria and I started talking, we ended up talking so much that we exchanged phone numbers first and I did like her at the time but she told me she talked more on Snapchat so we added each other there instead.

From there, we became a lot closer than I thought we were going to be. For practically 2 years of my life, we've talked to each other during our best and worst days. We even spent a day during the summer together where we were at a bookstore and we barely read anything because she was always messing with me while I was reading, then we went to bum read a few books while I filmed her as payback for messing with me. We went through so much together, I even remember at one point, I asked her what I'd do without her because she always knew how to encourage me but she said that I'd have a better life but I never believed it. She even wished me more happy birthdays during the day more than any of my other friends and I did the same for her, hell, she told me that she adored me too.

I did have feelings for her occasionally but we always made sure that we were only friends and that was okay with me because as long as I had her in my life, everything was fine with me. After all, even when I was depressed and felt like I had no one, I still had Maria. Sadly, that all changed at the beginning of 2018 because she told me that she was getting married but it meant that she had to lose me for the sake of her marriage. She told me that she'd still talk to me if she could but her husband was the jealous type. I understood but at the same time, I didn't want to lose her because of a guy's insecurity since I've gone through that before but Maria was the very last person I thought I'd lose because of that.

I don't care what Maria says, she changed my life when things were stacking up against me and she stood by me to make sure I was going to be okay but I hope that she felt like I did the same for her as well. She probably thinks that I'm having the time of my life without her in it but I'm not if I'm being 100% honest. I'm not having the time of my life but I'm not having the worst time either. With her, it felt like things were easier to go through because I knew she'd be there but now that I can't talk to her anymore, it feels weird without her. I try to talk to her every once in a while or so but I can't hold a conversation with her so I just tell her that I hope she's doing okay and I'm wishing her the best happiness in her marriage. I miss Maria every day. There's a part of me that wishes they'd separate so we can talk again but I want her to be happy and as long as she's happy even though I'm not there, I'm happy for her.

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Don Anderson II

Movies, memoirs, music lover, graduate of community college, and university

Quiet writer but I'm sure my stories from years ago are still of interest

Tips are welcomed

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.