Humans logo

I Hope He Likes Me

A First Date Fiction Story

By Ada ZubaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
I Hope He Likes Me
Photo by Alan Quirvan on Unsplash

Disappointment. The word "disappointment" came into Aria's mind. She could not pull off her black dress anymore, she used to fit into it perfectly, but with her new weight loss, she looked like she was drowning in it. Aria pulled her dress over her head and tossed it on the wooden floor. She peered from her room down the hall to her sister's closed room door. She bit her lip. Aria could already hear her sister asking why she would take her pink dress, but it was the only thing that would look good on her new reinvented body. Aria went for it, she stepped into her sister's walk-in closet. She found the pink dress and she tugged it off the hanger and she went back to her own room with the dress in hand. Aria put it on and indeed it looked perfect. Finally, she could on her make-up. She peered at the reflection in the mirror, her green eyes stared back at her, she carefully applied each layer of make-up. When she stepped back into the frame of the mirror she was satisfied. Her dark make-up made her eyes pop out, her pink lipstick did not clash with the dress.

"You sure, you want to wear that much make-up?" asked her mother's voice. Aria spun around her mom stood in the doorway.

"Mom, I always wear this much make-up every day," Aria answered and she ran her fingers through her hair.

"Where is he taking you?" her mother asked.

"Just this place."

"Ah, this place. Yes, I have heard of this place, which place exactly?"

"Sorentino's"

"Wow, that's fancy. I will give you a twenty just in case," said her mom and from her back pocket, she pulled out her wallet and passed Aria a twenty-dollar bill. "Be back before curfew," she said and Aria was left alone in her room staring at her reflection.

The doorbell rang and Aria just about jumped out of her own skin. Her dad slowed her down by putting a hand on her shoulder.

"Aria, remember boys only want one thing-"

"Yes, I know all they want is sex, I have your number on speed dial and I will shout fire if he's being inappropriate," she rolled her eyes since she had heard this speech over ten times.

"And you will be back when?"

"Before ten, can I go?" she huffed and her dad put his hand down in defeat.

Aria got to the bottom of the staircase and there he stood wearing a navy blue tuxedo, his hair was slicked back and out of his dark eyes. She had never truly realized just how gorgeous his eyes were. He held out his arm to her and she took it.

"Have fun!" yelled her mom from the kitchen.

"We will!" Aria called back and she closed the door behind her.

"You have your fake ID on you?" he asked as he opened the door for her.

"Yes, I never go anywhere without it. You planning to get me drunk?" she asked and he slyly smiled as he shut the door and went to the other side of the car and he got in. They drove to the restaurant and got to their table.

"Have you ever been here?" he asked.

"No, I haven't actually. How are you going to afford this?" she whispered in a low voice.

"I have it covered, I swiped my dad's credit card from his office," he said casually.

They ordered their food and James looked up at the waiter.

"We would also like a glass of your finest Merlot please," he said and the waiter did not bother to ask for their ID's. Aria took a sip of the wine and she made a sour face.

"What? not your favorite?" he asked her.

"Not really. I am more of a Margherita type of person," she responded and he poured the wine into his own glass.

"James you're driving!" Aria hissed.

"Then, I guess we will just have to sober up before we go anywhere," he said as he flagged down the waiter. Aria had three Margherita's before they left the restaurant. They both stumbled out of the restaurant.

"It's such nice weather," she said and she grabbed his arm and took off her heels. She could feel the warmth of the pavement under her feet, it was relaxing to have her heels off. Together, they walked down the sidewalk that led along the river. She then proceeded to walk along the barrier with her ballet toes perfectly pointed and he held her hand and guided her.

"Do you normally do this?" he asked.

"Not really, I am just having fun," she answered. "Well, it's official," she said.

"What is?" he asked her with an amused look on his face.

"I am dead. When I get home my parents will kill me," she said. "Because it is almost twelve at night and I am not in my bed," she slurred.

She fell off the barrier and into his arms, she looked up into his eyes and he looked into hers. She found herself pulling towards him, she could smell his cologne. Hugo Boss? or was it, Calvin Klein? He leaned in closer and their lips met. She felt a fiery sensation on her skin as he touched her arm. His fingers slowly and gently made their way up her arms and they ran into her hair. She could feel his breathing and he kissed her again and his hands wandered up to her leg and she impulsively slapped it.

"Ow!" he said with a laugh.

"Sorry, I guess this is going too far...take me home," she said.

"Okay," he agreed, he took her hand and they found the car. He helped her in and he drove slowly down in the neighborhood and finally arrived at her house. He dropped her off at the front steps and Aria stumbled in smelling of merlot. She sauntered upstairs and collapsed in her bed still wearing the dress.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.