Humans logo

I Ghosted Him

And I don't regret it

By Elise Published 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

It can be hurtful to be ghosted by someone you're interested in it. And when it happens you're left wondering what you did to deserve that sort of treatment because at the end of the day it really is a form of rejection. 

But we always hear stories about people being ghosted, now it's time for the people who ghost others to come forward and tell us their side of the story. So, I'll start with my own story about ghosting someone.

Back in 2017 I met this guy on tinder, let's call him Sam, and I was infatuated right away. It was shallow and immature of me to only be interested in him because of his looks but I'd just gotten out of a relationship and needed someone attractive to be distracted by. And it worked but only for a short time.

Sam and I spoke on tinder for about a month before the meeting. I spoke to a few other guys during that time but no one held my attention the way Sam did. 

He made me laugh and took his time to get to know me, I liked that about him. At the time I thought he was the most perfect looking man. Flawless skin, thick dark hair, large brown eyes, amazing smile. And the bonus was we had such similar humor I felt comfortable around him, little did I know that everything I liked about him would be what turned me off of him in the end.

Even the most beautiful person can become unattractive when there's no real spark between the two of you.

As the weeks went by I felt good about where things were headed with Sam. We went on a few dates and hung out a few times and I thought I really liked him. 

However, one night while I lay in bed next to Sam the thought of my ex weaseled it's way back into my mind and I let it stay for a while. This opened up a wound that I'd tried covering up with someone else's affection. That night I was left me wishing my ex were beside me instead of this stranger from Tinder.

After that, it all went downhill. My feelings had suddenly changed and everything about him began to irritate me - his goofiness, lack of meaningful conversation, the way he looked, how he spoke, all the joking around, it all really began to annoy me.

The last time I saw him I knew or hoped it would be the last time, it didn't feel right anymore.

We spoke for another week or so and things had gotten weird between us. We both distanced ourselves from each other but he ended up telling me that he really liked me, was only interested in me and wasn't seeing anyone else.

For a moment I thought that was really sweet but only for a moment.

Most people might swoon over someone saying that to them but I suddenly didn't trust him. I felt that he was lying or maybe I hoped that he was lying so I could get out of that situation. 

After all, how could I be the only one he was interested in? We'd met on tinder for goodness sake, so I didn't for a second think that he had stopped talking to other people just for me. 

If he did lie then that was a good reason to kick him to the curb and if he was being honest… well, oops, my bad. But I highly doubt that he was honest.

So, my mind went straight to delete and never speak to him again. And that is exactly what I did. 

I know it was immature, mean and downright a bitch move but I have no regrets. If Sam had been honest about me not being the only girl he was interested in then it would have given me the choice to go forward with him or move on, but he turned to lies just to keep me around. Why?

I appreciate honesty above all else which is ironic since I didn't even tell him the truth about how I felt, instead I avoided it completely and ghosted him. But he never reached out to me after that, so to me, that proves that I was right he was a liar and more importantly - we were never compatible anyway.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Elise

I love all things tarot, art, and writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.