Humans logo

I Am Strong Like A Dragon

A talk with my imaginary friend that brings me strength: Inhale the blessings and exhale the lies, lets meditate

By MarwahPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
I Am Strong Like A Dragon
Photo by Khamkéo Vilaysing on Unsplash

In front of the little Thai diner old Maratha looks after and right in the shade of the Eucalyptus tree you stand tall, grinning the grin of the happy and free. Nobody can see you but me; Yet I smile as I cross the street with the other tourists. I looked particularly eccentric in my yellow tights, with the sun in my eyes but I'll tell you this: I'm fine with you being all made up, Zayn.

I did make you up; I gave you a name, burnt-brown, wispy hair and a crooked, large roman nose. What is it with me and large noses on men? Are they men or dragons? I also gave you a non-creepy smile and a witty charm and the ability to be kind no matter what my fault or none; considering I can be be pretty blameless given the occasion. You have a way to temper my tantrums with your words and make me forget to be unhappy. Even though I don't lack in friends, you are my oldest. You also don't ask me to share my food with you.

Inhale your blessings. Exhale the worries and lies that weigh on you. Now walk on, star child.

I once told you excitedly about Toothless in 'How to tame your dragon', and you discovered my love for the adorable flying lizard as well as the horrible day I cried tears of rejection, when my parents told me I can't have the blue bearded dragon I was pinning for, you've witnessed it all. You have been there with me through thick and thin, from one little dragon to the next; I am your Khaleesi, aren't I?

By Thomas Despeyroux on Unsplash

Now from the 24/7 diner that call me to food, soft cashews on top of fat, warm sugar cakes and farther and farther from chocolate factories and to the vendors that ask me: 'Ma'am would you please look at these goods?' I tell you my grievances as you sigh with me. You tell me to be patient and to be calm, to be strong and to be kind, but you are the only friend I hide inside me.

Now lets meditate: Inhale, Exhale. Count your footsteps, remember you are here.

Think of the hundred stories I made up, a million scenarios trapped in my head. I look up to a seagull and think could life be more beautiful? There are children in strollers, hanging onto the frocks of their mothers. Immigrants talk in languages of their home-land and gestures to new places: it's a new world for them and a new beginning.

By Anthony Reungère on Unsplash

I walk the walk of the strong. I walk the stride of the brave from one job to the next. I count every step I take and meditate. I am here. I am alive and breathing; my dragon is sitting somewhere in a cave, waiting for me to realize my power and call it forth. We will roam the skies, with me on its back and my every childhood dream will come true as I soar through the clouds.

Don't forget your sunscreen, baby.

These cobblestones of blue, white and shades of grey (Am I colorblind or what? That was not grey, more like brown), you are a voice in my ear unwavering and complete. Oh Zayn, how I wish you were real.

Maybe you are somewhere out there and one of these days I will bump against you (With all my considerable weight, I'll probably topple you right off the the side-walk) my eyes caught in your hazel ones as you will ask in your nice, dreamy voice: 'Ma'am will you go to dinner with me?'

I will say no, but I WILL take your number and call you when I'm happy, so you can hear the way I sound when I feel whole. We will go around these vendors, hand in hand, acting like lovers and knowing we were meant to be together.

I'll hope you are no freaking Joe from 'YOU', and invite you home for a nice evening (After a background and drug test of course).

There are clocks that tell time, I'm wearing one on my wrist. Yet, when I meditate:

Inhale the blessings, exhale the worries. Look around you, the world is so bright. I can notice the light around me when I look up; Aware of my blessings, thankful for every breath I take because right now, I'm free.

Sometimes, I am a boat in hard winds looking for a shore.

''There!'', the sailor cries. ''Land!''

I sail on, as I walk on this street. Skipping rocks and people floating past me. I'm not here and yet I am. I am strong.

By Austin Neill on Unsplash

I have a whole world I explore when I walk with you on this pavement of hard rocks, frogs and a hundred more people in the middle of Nottingham from one subway to the next, while my eyes look forward you know better, I'm talking to you. So what if you are not real, Hassan? You are real enough to me as you bring me calm.

There are dragons that breath fire into the hearts of the cold.

“All that is gold does not glitter,

Not all those who wander are lost;

The old that is strong does not wither,

Deep roots are not reached by the frost.

From the ashes a fire shall be woken,

A light from the shadows shall spring;

Renewed shall be blade that was broken,

The crownless again shall be king.”

― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Fellowship of the Ring (and also one of my favorite book.)

Dragons might roam the region and be gone for days, yet they always stay dragons: impenetrable fire-breathing machines of lore. What if they were real? What if they aren't? The world is full of possibilities and I'm one with my fantasies as I walk on by the Thai 24/7 diner with a huge dragon emblem.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

When I was younger, I searched the sky for a dragon and that's exactly why 'How to tame your dragon' still gives the fuzzies, and toothless is a long lost friend to me. I love little tea-cups in old second-hand shops. I adore big warm shawls that drape me all the way to my foot and meditations calm me.

I'm thinking of buying a new bicycle with a pretty basket in the front so that it can hold flowers but I'll have to pick up a longer route, so I can reach my work place on time and still have time for me. So what do you think, should I? Everybody needs a little crazy to enjoy life to the fullest. I can wear a dress, sing along all the while I explore the city.

Whether I wander or walk purposefully, I'll never be lost because I am a strong woman.

................................

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Marwah

The universe has a message for you. Try again, bae. Reach without expecting nothing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.