Humans logo

I Am So Lucky

How lucky are you?

By Tinka Boudit She/HerPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
4
Photo by Tinka Boudit

178. In the year 2021, I found 178 four-to-seven leafed clovers. My individual records are 56 in one day found and eight days in a row found. This is not the first time I have found four-leafed clovers, but this is the first year I have ever found them in such abundance. This is the first stretch of time I ever took time to actively seek them out. I think after the last two years the world had given all of us, it was nice to have a bit of good luck.

I always considered myself a fairly lucky person. Even when something bad happened to me, it happened under good circumstances. When my car died, it happened a block from my house in front of the garage I would take it to anyways before my day off. When my appendix ruptured at 17, leaving me in the hospital for six days, it happened a week before school started, giving me some much needed rest from my summer job.

When I have good luck, it's even better. I can get a good parking spot in a mall anytime I want. I can find highly valuable items at the thrift store.

I did a little research and I found the goddess Fortuna. Fortuna is the ancient Roman goddess of luck and fortune. She is depicted as blind(folded) with a cornucopia to depict generosity. She is described as the personification of events of capriciousness, fickleness, and virtue.

What does all this mean?

I knew my ability to find clovers and spot things was more than a skill learned from "I Spy" and "Where's Waldo" books, this was a gift. This was a gift given to me that was meant to be given away. I had some older four-leafed clovers collected from years past and with some of the early clovers I collected early 2021; it was time to share my gift. I offered up my four-leafed clovers to my friends on Facebook. All they had to do was give me their address. I sent around 20 in March and April to friends across the country. Some I hadn't spoken to since high school, some were dear friends who had moved away. Each person got a handwritten card. Some messaged me back to let me know they got the card, one sent a card back, many said nothing. That's the thing about gifts: they are given without the expectation of reciprocity. Reciprocity can be fickle.

The bizarre part was, the more clovers I sent away, the more I needed to find. My collection was dwindling to zero, more people wanted clovers than I had, so I had to keep looking. I had found my collection over the span of years, now I needed to find more in days. Somehow, Fortuna heard my call, and gave me more clovers. In my back yard and while walking my dog, I found four leafed clovers.

Photo by Tinka Boudit

Fortuna was leaving signs for me everywhere, and for the first time, I was acknowledging her back. She became generous. She bestowed charms upon me, and I was generous back. Fortuna was always around, but she just turned her volume up to 11, capriciously.

Summer 2021 was a summer of healing and recovery. It was for lots of people after the previous year. I had been through eight surgeries in that year and had another one on the autumn horizon that I didn't know was coming yet. Over the course of 2021 I made a point to be kinder. It was in late summer, I came to terms with an old break up I had, a very old break up. I realized that I no longer need to be angry at that ex-boyfriend for how we acted with each other. It was a long time ago. I used to say if I ever saw him again, I would turn into that immature person I once was. I used to say that about a lot of people. In 2021, I decided to give up anger.

Towards the end of the year, an old friend, one of the friends I sent a clover to in the spring passed away. It reminded me that Fortuna spins her wheel for both good and bad. She cares not where it lands. I attended his memorial and gave two more four-leafed clovers to an old friend and a new friend at the service. The friend who passed away was known for his love, kindness, and strength. He was virtue embodied.

Going forward in 2022.

I don't normally make New Year's resolutions, this year, the day of my friend's memorial, I decided to do that. This year, I dedicate my kindness in his memory. I don't do it for the people who receive my kindness, I don't do it for myself, this year, I do it for him. If I have a chance to be a sober cab, donate, give, be generous, it's going to happen. It already has in this first month. What have I done? It doesn't need to be said, the recipients know.

Fortuna favors the bold, the generous, and the prepared. I am a humble acolyte. I have a world of work ahead of me.

friendship
4

About the Creator

Tinka Boudit She/Her

contact on FB & IG

linktr.ee/tinkaboudit

The Soundtrack BOI: WA

FP

Bette On It: Puddle, Desks, Door, Gym, Condoms, Couch, Dancers, Graduate.

Purveyor of Metaphorical Hyperbole, Boundless, Ridiculous, Amazing...and Humble.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.