Humans logo

How You Love Me

I can't believe I got so lucky.

By Sarah LeonelliPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

It is an incredible thing really. You go out on a cold night in January, never expecting to meet someone you feel you can love endlessly. Maybe I was fortunate, or maybe it was fate. There's no way to be sure. All I know is that I could not be happier with my life now, and it's all thanks to that one night, at a show I had no idea would change my life the way it did.

I looked up and saw you at 8:02 PM. Of course I remember the time, my world changed as soon as I saw you. Your band went on stage not too long after, and I felt the need to stand right in front. During one of your songs, you looked down straight into my eyes. You told me later that you would never normally look down into the crowd like that. I watched you drop your pick in the middle of one of your songs, and you couldn't believe that I was observant enough to realize that. How could I not be observant when I'm standing right under the most beautiful human I've ever seen?

A short while after that night, we began talking. You can ask my friends, I've never been so excited to see someone's name on my phone. We ended up FaceTiming one night until 3 AM. Everything felt so natural and it shocked me that I was so comfortable with you from the beginning. We talked about everything, from our pasts to our present and even what we hoped would happen in our futures. I was so intrigued by all that you were saying and all I wanted to do was listen to your soothing voice, learning more about you with every word your lips spoke.

A couple weeks later, you came over for dinner. I was beyond nervous. You drove an hour and a half just to see me. (I'm sorry you live so far.) As soon as you hugged me, a wave of feelings such as protection and love washed over me. My whole family was here, with the exception of my oldest brother, and I had no idea how you would react or what you would say. (Don't worry, you made a lasting impression on everyone and they all love you.) You kissed me for the first time that night, on the steps going downstairs to get a board game. My world stopped, much like it did when we first made eye contact. In the moment it was only me and you. Nothing felt forced or unnatural, I felt safe. We stayed awake until 2 AM talking about your music and our lives, all the while Elvis and Frank Sinatra played in the background.

That's how our story started. A story that I love and cherish more than anything.

Now, I look at you and I feel the same way I did when I first saw you across the room. Only I'm also bombarded with a feeling of love that grows stronger every day, regardless of if we spend it together or not. A feeling of love that no combination of letters and numbers could possibly explain. I never thought I would be able to care about someone as much as I care about you.

It amazes me that out of the 7 billion+ people that walk this earth, I found you. When I think about our relationship and the love we share in this way, I can't help but think that it was fate that brought us together. There is no other explanation for it.

How do you do it? How do you make me feel grounded but also like I'm flying at the same time? How do you love me the way you do? How can you make me feel so safe, even when I am most vulnerable? I don't like being vulnerable, but I don't mind so much when I'm with you.

I don't understand everything, like most humans, and I don't have answers to a lot of the questions I ask myself daily.

However, I understand one thing fully. I love you, and I need you. You have encouraged me to always do my best and push for what I want in life. I understand that you bring out the best parts of me. I will never be able to express how grateful I am for you, the laughs, and all the love you have supplied me with. Thank you for showing me what a healthy relationship is. Thank you for not only saying how much you love me, but showing me constantly. You are amazing. I am so glad that I get to walk through life holding hands with you.

love
Like

About the Creator

Sarah Leonelli

I'm currently working on a book in which I share my lengthy collection of poems.

Instagram: @sarahleonellipoetry

Twitter: @sarahleonelli

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.