Humans logo

How to Throw an Anti-Valentine Party While Streaming Live!

Will You Be My Anti-Valentine?

By Queenie ReignsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Anti-Valentine's Day Cookies (Pinterest)

How to Throw an Anti-Valentine’s Day Stream Live….on a Dating Site

“Alexa, play my F$%& Love Playlist!” The first song, I'd Rather Be Single featuring Katlynn Simone, plays.

Today, I’m planning a topic based Anti-Valentine's Day stream…. on a dating site. I wasn’t going to get on, but I was sick of seeing these videos on social media of rose petals strewn all over the beds and floors, rooms filled with heart shaped balloons, boxes of chocolates, jewelry, and gifts. Like, who’s going to clean all of that up and do you really need so many candles? *rolls eyes* Jhene Aiko's B.S. featuring H.E.R., begins to play. And oh, three of the posts were of men who, just a few months ago, were accused of cheating by their girlfriends. Now they're "Kings doing King shyt" *sucks teeth*

Credit: Punchbowl.com

As I log on to the dating app, Valentine's Day wishes were everywhere. Are single people still hoping and wishing to find their match in these apps? Ebony Reigns' song, Maame Hw3 , begins to play.

I’m no longer actively seeking a relationship online. These men online are a joke and I have decided to friend zone all of them. Instead, I have found a new love- streaming live. Most are doing the same- streaming on a dating site without any intentions of finding real love. Beyonce's song, Irreplaceable, begins to play. What keeps me and others on the site are the virtual gifts. Those who come to my stream pay for these gifts and send to their favorite streamers and of course, we express our gratitude when we receive them. These gifts, depending on the accumulated points, can eventually be converted into currency. A few minutes later, Rihanna's Take a Bow plays.

On my notification to my fans, I typed,

“F#$! Valentine! Haters Welcome! Anti-Valentine Stream here! Gift me black hearts only! Ladies, leave your eyelashes and wigs on the dresser! Bonnet friendly! Live in 10 minutes! ”

Jazmine Sullivan's song, I’ll Bust Your Windows Out Your Car begin to play as I belt out loud, "I Bust Your Windows Out Your Caaarrrrr!"

In my account settings, I added women so they can also visit my live streams. While everyone is dressed up and having their mushy “Valentine’s Day” streams and love auctions, I decided to do the opposite. I’m wearing a hoodie with matching sweatpants, a satin bonnet, no make up and left my eyelashes and wig on my dresser. I feel naked without my eyelashes! Should I change and put on makeup? No! Kelis' song, Caught Out There, begins to play.

Ok. I'm ready to stream. I hit the GO LIVE button.

I'm in the mood...my Anti-Valentine’s Day playlist already playing. That's actually my F%@$ Love playlist...the one I play in the background while I watch my movies on Lifetime.

A few days prior, I ordered anti-Valentine's Day cookies and made a bloody strawberry sparkling apple cider ready once I hit the red live button. “Hello! Welcome everyone,” as more people enter the stream. Gifts of Black hearts cascade down on my screen. “Thank you!” The song, Separated, by Avant feat. Kelly Rowland begins to play.

My experiences and disappointments with my ex-husband was pretty much written in those lyrics. Unexpectedly, a flood of men and women came in. My stream became a safe space for those who share the same sentiments and the comments go crazy. Ne-Yo's song, So Sick, begins to play.

"I've been waiting for a stream like this," said one comment.

"Thanks," said another.

Of course the The next song, Don't Come Back by Tarrus Riley, comes on.

One after the other, people requested to enter the “date box” spewing their bitterness and complaining of the pressure bestowed on them. Each given one minute to vent. The cliché, forced romantic, and over-commercialized holiday has finally found a place where it dies...in my stream. Why can’t they show their love year round? One woman said her boyfriend broke up with her, for no apparent reason, two days ago. Gloria Gaynor's song, I Will Survive, begins to play.

Credit: QuickMeme.com

After their time in the box was up, I chose not to “date them”...I allowed the heart to break since it is an Anti-Valentine stream. I explained to them the process informing them at some point, I will reset the box so that they can return if they want. Beyonce's song, Sorry, plays.

"You are bitter!" says one woman in my box. "Really?" I responded, "and you are gone!" She was blocked from my live. Everyone applauded...

"Yeah, we don't need that negativity around here." Coincidentally, Jhene Aiko's song, Triggered plays.

"Alexa, replay F$%$ Love playlist"

single
2

About the Creator

Queenie Reigns

Mom of 1. Retired Homeschooler. Educator. Housekeeper. Head Chef. Dishwasher. Bookkeeper. I have always wanted to write, but my then husband discouraged me. We are no longer together. Just getting back to my passion.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.