Humans logo

How My Man Only Dated Me for a Month Before Proposing Marriage - Adaeze Yobo

Adaeze Yobo talks love story

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian footballer Joseph Yobo and his wife, Adaeze Yobo have been married for 12 years now and the two have been blessed with three children. They are also in Nigeria, one of the most celebrated celebrity couples, and as such, people are curious to hear about their love story. How did it happen? How did Joseph ask ask Adaeze to marry him? How long had they known each other before then? People are very curious.

Well, during a new interview with Mercy Johnson Okojie for her Youtube show, Mercy's Menu, Adaeze Yobo opened up about everything. Spoiler alert: their love story is very unusual, and very surprising. Are you ready to see what Adaeze said about the two's love story? Then let's go!

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Adaeze Yobo on "Mercy's Menu"

During the show, Adaeze Yobo was asked: "How did you meet your husband?" Adaeze responded:

Well we met at an event and he came over to me and he said "Hi, I just want to be friends". You know, just straight up saying that I liked it because he didn't come to start bullshitting or telling stories. So I was like okay, it's okay. Because footballers you know, they have stories of coming in, you know, meeting people, flying out. So when he said, you know, I just want to be friends, I was like okay, that's a nice touch and if he's doing wayo, it's still a nice touch too to start like that. So from there, we just started talking and we had been one month, he told me - he gave me a promise ring and said that he wanted to marry me. Yeah! So he travelled, I thought he was just bullshitting and then he travelled, called me on the phone. We started making arrangements and then two months later, he proposed to me. I still thought it was a joke because I was planning to go to school. I was planning to travel to LA for school and he proposed at the airport. He did [get on his knee]. And that was it. So we didn't really have any long talking stage, the story that people usually expect from me. We didn't really have any long talking stage. It was few weeks. Sometimes I even lie to people so they don't look at me like [somehow]. Yeah sometimes I say it was four months after, but really in reality, it was just a month after he told me that. Then two months after, we got married. And then you know of course a lot of people were like it's not going to last, and now it's 12 years after.

Wow! In less than half a year, these two people had gone from complete strangers to married, and still been able to sustain the marriage for 12 years. That is very unheard of. Wow!

What do you think about what Adaeze Yobo said, and what do you think about her love story with Joseph Yobo? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.