Humans logo

How My Body and Face Has Helped Me in Nollywood - Kunle Remi

Kunle Remi talks fineness, physique, and acting

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actor Kunle Remi burst into the national consciousness after appearing on the hit reality television show, Gulder Ultimate Search many years ago. After participating in the competition, he then entered into Nollywood and has today amassed quite a devoted fanbase and is one of the most sought after actors in the industry.

Now, in a new interview with The Nigerian Tribune, Kunle Remi is opening up about how he made the transition from reality star into actor, as well as talking about how his good looks and physique really helped him break into Nollywood. Here is what Kunle Remi said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Kunle Remi

Speaking about breaking into the industry and how being a fine boy with a good physique helped him a lot, Kunle Remi said:

Before I started acting, I had to prove myself, not just to the world, but to myself. I’ve always wanted to be a filmmaker. The reality show I went for had nothing to do with acting.  It was a platform that just put me out there and after there what is next? It is not just that after I finished the show then I started acting; I went through the process even though I did a few things before I went to school but I went through the training process. Each job I got, I made sure I did it well and gave it everything I had so that I got a referral for it. It’s been referrals after referral and people can stick out their neck for you if they know that you will deliver. I’m still going through the process.

My physique has helped in many ways. One of my colleagues once said he wished he was fine like me, but I said no that is not the point. There are so many fine people that are not actors while there are people that you will not consider as handsome, but they are super talented. It is way beyond good looks. I was fighting with the fact that I was not just getting roles because of my looks and not the fact that I can portray them well. Let the looks just be an added advantage. I’m ready to go hideous, one of the happiest moments of my life was when Kunle Afolayan said he was going to scrap my beards and I would have tribal marks, I was still fine. It is a gift and I embrace it but I still want to do more without people being distracted by my looks. People don’t want to take those risks. In American films they can use make up to make you look hideous or a certain way. Absolutely, I would do my life stunts or whatever it takes. I would take off my eyebrows for a character. I would lose weight for a character because all these things will grow back. I see myself as a canvas, I’m good looking but what do you really want me to be. Do I fit into the character? It’s my fans that were concerned about me shaving my beards; in fact I’m not even growing it back. I don’t mind.

What do you think about what Kunle Remi said? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.