Humans logo

“How Much Were You Paid for Far From Home?” - Mike Afolarin Responds

Mike talks acting, money, and Far From Home

By Jide OkonjoPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Mike Afolarin is best known today for playing the role of Ishaya in the hit Netflix TV show, Far From Home. However, just because that was the production that shot him into the limelight does not mean that it was his first project. Mike Afolarin has actually been at this for a long time now and has starred in a number of other Nollywood productions like Soole, and The Wait.

During a new interview with TVC's Wake Up Nigeria, Mike Afolarin was asked how the journey has been so far for him, if he is getting fulfilment from acting, and also: how much he was paid for his role in Far From Home. Here is how Mike Afolarin responded to all these questions.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Mike Afolarin on TVC's 'Wake Up Nigeria'

During his interview, Mike Afolarin was asked "You've been through so many movies, I know you were in Soole, and your character wasn't half bad at all. And now bringing to Far From Home, how has the journey been so far?" He responded:

MIKE AFOLARIN: Great. I'm just enjoying every step of the way to be honest because you never know what project is going to be the one right? So to prepare for that, you just have to give your best every time. Every time, and that is what I do. 100% energy, every time.

"My next question is going to be a JAMB question and you have to answer. How much did you make?"

MIKE AFOLARIN: I do have to answer?

"Yeah. How much did you make?"

MIKE AFOLARIN: How much did I make?

"Yeah."

MIKE AFOLARIN: From?

"From Far from Home?"

MIKE AFOLARIN: How much did I make? As the character, or as Mike?

"How much did you make? How much them pay you?"

MIKE AFOLARIN: [laughs]

"Okay you don't have to answer but the reason why I ask that is because for a young person who is it out there, social media is a big part of your life as well as the lives of people who are in your age bracket. There is a certain need to want to put out there what people expect. There is that pressure to be that fly guy. So do you find yourself actually bending to that pressure? Did you get paid enough to actually support that lifestyle to show that ooo, I'm that guy on Netflix?"

MIKE AFOLARIN: To be honest, I don't think I have anything to prove. I'm still the regular guy. I'm still the good ol' Mike.

"You don't jump buses do you?"

MIKE AFOLARIN: No, I don't.

"Aha! So you're not the regular guy?"

MIKE AFOLARIN: But I mean - I drive myself. So I'm still a bit of a regular guy. There is no pressure at all. I'm still the regular me. Nothing has changed.

"Are you fulfilled as an actor? Because sometimes fulfilment is not about how much you have. Are you fulfilled?"

MIKE AFOLARIN: Yeah. I'm absolutely enjoying what I'm doing. 1000%. I don't know if there is any other thing I'd rather be doing besides more acting and more bringing stories to life.

What did you think about what Mike Afolarin said, and also how he responded to that very awkward question. Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.