Humans logo

How I Taught My Daughter Lesson By Withholding Her Business Money - Iyabo Ojo

Iyabo opens up

By Jide OkonjoPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actress Iyabo Ojo is the mother of popular influencer and businesswoman Priscilla Ojo and during an episode of Iyabo's podcast Gold Room, Iyabo spoke about how she made sure Priscilla got into business despite a bustling influencing career, as well as the lesson she taught her by locking her out of her own business to get her to sit up. Here's what Iyabo Ojo said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to sign up for my newsletter below so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. At the end of each week, I'll compile all the best stories from the week and send them right to your inbox, so you don't miss out on any of the hottest things that have happened throughout the week. Sign up now so you always get alerted!

Speaking about how she made Priscilla get into business, and taught her a lesson by withholding money, Iyabo Ojo said:

IYABO OJO: Priscilla started off as an influencer but I said to her, you have to have your own business. Because you must have your own business. And she was like - because she was making so much money, she was like "mum!" - I said, you have to. And so we started with Priscy's Closet. And initially, she dumped it on me. But later, what I did for her was I said you know what? We're going to use your [bank] account. And then she was receiving the money. When people are buying, she's receiving and she's spending it. Then one day I was like Priscilla, you're over spending this money and she was like "oh mummy, I didn't know". So I locked her out of it, but I deliberately did that because I wanted her to enjoy, to see how it feels to make your own money, then I locked her out and I started managing it again so that we could have money to like restock and all that - just give her just the profit and take out my own profit. And so later she was like ughh, she was a bit frustrated because she was like "how am I not getting the money? But it's my thing!" I said okay, if it is your thing, are you ready to put in the effort, put in the money, do you understand? Because this is what works. This is your thing. And sometimes the influencing job is a bit slow. It doesn't come all the time. And she falls back on the business. So now she understands that your business needs to keep going. Because influencing is working right now, but a time will come when things might change. Because we never knew DVD would go off the market, and we never knew tape would go before DVD. And then social media came, and it was Facebook, then Instagram, now we have Threads, so you have to keep up with these things and you never know!

What do you think about what Iyabo Ojo did? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to follow my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never end

If you want to follow me on alternative social media, I am now on Twitter and in the process of growing my account on there. So please, feel free to follow me on Twitter as well @JideOkonjo.

In addition to running a blogging page, I also run a gaming Facebook group called "Jide's Games" where you can play real games right now to win big naira. To join the JIDE'S GAMES Facebook group, click here.

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.