Humans logo

How I saved my life

By Sami Sosnick

By Sami SosnickPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
Domestic abuse is nothing to play around with

It all started when I was 18. This is the story of how I finally got help and got out of an abusive relationship. When I turned 18 I got with this kid who I thought was amazing, turns out he wasn’t after all. Fast forward three or four months , we moved into our own apartment and things were going okay for a while then all of the sudden things changed he started getting in my face and screaming at me. We would fight constantly. I soon found out I was pregnant but it ended up being an ectopic pregnancy. In January 7 months after we got together I went through the process of having a miscarriage and I thought my life was gonna end. The depression was horrible. My recovery was horrible. Within the next few months he began hitting me and getting in my face. Grabbing me by the neck and arms. He once threw a bowl of spaghettios at me. Broke many picture frame glasses. After grabbing me by the neck one day I left. I went to my parents and got a pfa on him. Got him admitted into a hospital for being suicidal. He got even more mad at me. Tried to kill himself. Just went crazy. A week or so went by and I stupidly went back to him. Forward a month and a half I was supposed to leave for navy bootcamp but he told me I wasn’t allowed. I then found out I was pregnant again but this baby was okay and growing properly. Here comes my 19th birthday. It was horrible he went out drinking and I stayed home and did nothing. Watched tv. He accused me of cheating so many times when all I did was sit at home and work. Fast forward more we moved to a big house that ended up having black mold so we moved again about 2 months after moving there. While we were living there he punched me in the face. Had body slammed me while 6 months pregnant. Sat on my belly and he was 330 pounds. Tried to suffocated me with a curtain. I then ran to the neighbors got help and went to the hospital on got checked to make sure the baby was okay. I then went back to him and we moved. I became a nanny for a really nice family and he then began accusing them of stuff they didn’t do. Fast forward a little more he was working in the oilfield and was never home. I spent most nights sleeping on the couch watching movies. We had many domestic calls and the cops in our area knew us by name. Near the end of the time I was with him we had our daughter and he still was never home by this time he was doing drugs. Eating us out of house and home every time he was home. He was still abusing me mentally and verbally and physically. The last straw for me to leave was him telling me he was going to kill me and take our daughter and move away so no one would know what happened to me. He punched me in the face. Gave me a black eye and tried to get me admitted into a hospital for being “suicidal” when I wasn’t. I finally got the nerve and the help from my parents to finally leave. While he was away at work my parents took my daughter I went and got almost all of my stuff and left. He came home to nothing of mine in the house. I then put another pfa against him changed my phone number, where I lived, and where I worked. Here I am a little more than a year from leaving my abusive relationship I have a beautiful year and a half year old daughter. An amazing boyfriend who supports me through everything I do. I’m currently enrolled in nursing school. And I have an amazing job in healthcare already. The point behind this story is to show you can leave an abusive relationship and start your life over again and make things happen. Yes you’ll have some damage from it but it takes time to heal. And with someone amazing by your side the healing process is faster.

breakups
Like

About the Creator

Sami Sosnick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.