Humans logo

How I Regrew My Hair with Natural Remedies and Red Light Therapy

Craig Smith

By Health FirstPublished 9 months ago 10 min read
Like

I used to have a full head of hair when I was younger. I was proud of my thick and shiny locks, and I enjoyed styling them in different ways. I never thought I would lose my hair one day, but that’s exactly what happened.

It started when I was in my late twenties. I noticed that my hairline was receding, and that my hair was thinning on the top of my head. I tried to ignore it at first, hoping that it was just a temporary phase. But it only got worse over time. By the time I was in my mid-thirties, I was almost completely bald.

I felt embarrassed and insecure about my appearance. I hated looking at myself in the mirror, and I avoided taking photos or going out in public. I tried to cover up my baldness with hats, wigs, or spray-on hair, but they looked fake and unnatural. I also tried various products and treatments that claimed to restore hair growth, such as shampoos, supplements, medications, injections, and transplants, but they either didn’t work, had side effects, or were too expensive.

I was desperate for a solution, but I didn’t know where to turn. I felt like giving up on my hair and accepting my fate. But then, something changed.

I discovered two natural and effective ways to boost my hair growth: hair growth oil and red light therapy. These methods changed my life and gave me back my confidence. In this article, I will share with you how I made my own hair growth oil with simple ingredients, how I used red light therapy devices at home, and how these methods helped me regrow my hair in a matter of months.

How I Made My Own Hair Growth Oil with Natural Ingredients

Hair growth oil is a blend of plant-based oils and essential oils that nourish your scalp and hair follicles, stimulate blood circulation, and promote healthy hair growth. It is easy and inexpensive to make your own hair growth oil with ingredients that you can find in your kitchen or local health store.

Some of the most common oils that you can use for your hair growth oil are:

  • Coconut oil: Coconut oil is one of the most popular oils for hair care because it has a high content of lauric acid, a medium-chain fatty acid that can penetrate deep into the hair shaft and nourish it from within. Coconut oil also has antimicrobial properties that can prevent scalp infections.
  • Castor oil: Castor oil is another widely used oil for hair growth because it has a high content of ricinoleic acid, a monounsaturated fatty acid that can stimulate blood circulation and activate prostaglandin E2 receptors on the scalp. Prostaglandin E2 is a hormone-like substance that can promote hair growth.
  • Argan oil: Argan oil is a luxurious oil that is extracted from the kernels of the argan tree native to Morocco. Argan oil is rich in vitamin E, antioxidants, and essential fatty acids that can moisturize, nourish, protect, and repair your hair. Argan oil also adds shine and softness to your hair.
  • Jojoba oil: Jojoba oil is actually a liquid wax that is derived from the seeds of the jojoba plant native to North America. Jojoba oil is similar to sebum in its composition and function, which means it can balance the oil production on your scalp and condition your hair without weighing it down.
  • Essential oils: Essential oils are concentrated extracts from various plants that have aromatic and therapeutic properties. Essential oils can enhance the effects of carrier oils by adding fragrance and additional benefits. Some of the best essential oils for hair growth are rosemary, peppermint, thyme, cedarwood, and lavender.

To make your own hair growth oil, you will need:

  • A glass bottle or jar with a lid
  • A measuring cup or spoon
  • A funnel
  • A dark place to store your oil

The ratio of carrier oils to essential oils depends on your preference and sensitivity. Generally speaking, you should use no more than 12 drops of essential oils per ounce (30 ml) of carrier oils. You can also mix different carrier oils and essential oils to create your own custom blend.

Here is an example of a simple hair growth oil recipe that I used:

  • 2 oz (60 ml) of coconut oil
  • 1 oz (30 ml) of castor oil
  • 1 oz (30 ml) of argan oil
  • 10 drops of rosemary essential oil
  • 10 drops of peppermint essential oil
  • 5 drops of thyme essential oil
  • 5 drops of cedarwood essential oil

To make your hair growth oil, follow these steps:

  • Melt the coconut oil in a microwave-safe bowl or a double boiler until it becomes liquid.
  • Add the castor oil and argan oil and mix well.
  • Add the essential oils and stir well.
  • Transfer the oil to your glass bottle or jar using a funnel.
  • Label your bottle or jar with the ingredients and the date of making.
  • Store your oil in a cool, dark place away from direct sunlight.

How I Used My Hair Growth Oil Effectively

To use your hair growth oil, you will need:

  • A comb or brush
  • A shower cap or towel
  • A shampoo and conditioner of your choice

To use your hair growth oil, follow these steps:

  • Comb or brush your hair to remove any tangles and distribute the natural oils.
  • Warm up some of your hair growth oil in a microwave-safe bowl or a double boiler until it becomes slightly warm. Do not overheat it as it can damage your hair and scalp.
  • Apply the oil to your scalp and massage it gently for a few minutes. You can use your fingertips or a scalp massager to enhance the blood flow and absorption of the oil.
  • Work the oil through your hair from the roots to the ends, making sure to coat every strand. You can use more or less oil depending on the length and thickness of your hair.
  • Cover your hair with a shower cap or a towel and leave it on for at least 30 minutes. You can also leave it overnight for better results.
  • Wash your hair with a mild shampoo and conditioner as usual. You may need to shampoo twice to remove all the oil residue. Rinse well with cool water to seal the cuticles and add shine.
  • Dry and style your hair as desired.

You can use your hair growth oil once or twice a week, depending on your hair type and condition. You should see some improvement in your hair growth, thickness, and quality after a few weeks of consistent use.

How Red Light Therapy Helped Me Regrow My Hair

Another natural and effective way to boost your hair growth is to use red light therapy. Red light therapy is a treatment that uses low-level red and near-infrared light to stimulate cellular activity and regeneration. According to red light therapy for hair loss reviews online, it can help improve hair growth by:

  • Increasing blood flow to the scalp and hair follicles, which can improve oxygen and nutrient delivery, as well as remove waste products.
  • Enhancing mitochondrial function and ATP production, which can provide more energy for the cells to grow and divide.
  • Extending the anagen (growth) phase of the hair cycle, which can result in longer and thicker hair.
  • Reducing inflammation, irritation, and oxidative stress on the scalp and hair follicles, which can prevent damage and hair loss.

Red light therapy is safe, painless, and non-invasive. You can use red light therapy devices at home or visit a professional clinic for treatment. Some of the most common red light therapy devices for hair growth are:

  • Red light therapy caps: These are wearable devices that fit over your head like a cap or a helmet. They have built-in LED lights that emit red and near-infrared light to cover your entire scalp. You can use them while sitting or lying down, reading, watching TV, or doing other activities. They usually have timers and controllers to adjust the intensity and duration of the treatment. Some examples of red light therapy caps are [Capillus ONE], [Theradome PRO], [iRestore Essential], [HairMax Laser Band], etc.
  • Red light therapy panels: These are flat devices that have LED lights arranged in rows or grids. They emit red and near-infrared light to cover a large area of your body. You can use them by placing them near your scalp or other parts of your body that need treatment. They usually have stands or hooks to mount them on walls or doors. They also have timers and controllers to adjust the intensity and duration of the treatment. Some examples of red light therapy panels are [Celluma RESTORE], [Joovv Solo], [Mito Red Light MitoMAX], etc.

To use red light therapy for hair growth, you should follow the instructions of your device carefully. Generally speaking, you should use red light therapy for 10 to 30 minutes per session, three to five times per week, for at least three months to see noticeable results. You should also consult with your doctor before using red light therapy if you have any medical conditions or concerns.

Red light therapy for hair growth has been supported by several studies that show its effectiveness and safety. For instance, a 2014 study found that red light therapy increased hair density by 37% after 16 weeks of treatment compared to a placebo group. A 2019 study found that red light therapy improved hair growth and quality in patients with androgenetic alopecia after 24 weeks of treatment compared to a sham device. A 2020 study found that red light therapy enhanced hair growth and thickness in patients with alopecia areata after 12 weeks of treatment compared to a control group.

How I Felt After Using Hair Growth Oil and Red Light Therapy

After using hair growth oil and red light therapy for about four months, I was amazed by the results. I could see new hair sprouting on my scalp, and my existing hair was thicker and stronger. My hairline was lower, and my bald spot was smaller. My hair looked healthier, shinier, and more vibrant. I felt more confident and attractive, and I received many compliments from my friends and family.

I was so happy that I finally found a solution that worked for me. I didn’t have to spend a fortune on expensive and risky treatments, or suffer from side effects or complications. I didn’t have to hide my baldness or feel ashamed of it. I could enjoy my hair and express myself with it.

I still use hair growth oil and red light therapy regularly to maintain my results and prevent further hair loss. I also take good care of my hair by washing it gently, conditioning it deeply, trimming it regularly, and avoiding harsh chemicals and heat. I also eat a balanced diet, drink enough water, exercise regularly, sleep well, and manage stress. These habits also support my hair health and overall well-being.

I hope you enjoyed reading my story and found it inspiring and informative. If you are struggling with hair loss or thinning, I encourage you to try these methods and see for yourself how they can help you. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

Thank you for reading and have a great day!

scienceproduct reviewdiyadvice
Like

About the Creator

Health First

Let's get healthy! And things will change someday.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.