Humans logo

How I Manifested my Partner

From personality, to hair color!

By Mesi JPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Us Most Recently

It was the summer before sophomore year (I was fifteen at the time), and that freckle-faced ROTC jock had broken my heart for the final time. Not the type of “final” time you forget about when your phone rings at 1am and their picture flashes.

I’m talking about the final time where you’re crying so hard that you can’t even breathe and they don’t think anything of it.

Anyways, that was it. I knew I had to move on at that point even after years of being love drunk over him.

I know you’re probably wondering; “What is a fifteen year old doing, worrying about love? You didn’t even know what love was!” Well, I knew what love wasn’t, and I knew what I wanted it to be.

So I created it myself.

It was a few days after my huge heartbreak that I heard about Ciara writing down a prayer describing the type of man she wanted. She ended up with Russell Wilson. Obviously, God listened you her very well because she got married, and had two kids with him.

So out of pure curiosity and with a mustard seed of faith, I sat down and wrote everything I wanted in a man. I did not leave a single thing out, and was very specific.

From his personality all the way to his shoe size, I wrote and wrote. It was fulfilling and it was fun, but I took it very serious as well because it meant a lot to me.

Not only did my hopeless romantic personality come from being a Libra, it also came from a strained relationship with my dad, a toxic relationship with freckle face, and so many other things.

At the end of my writing session I had filled up three pages (two of which were front and back). I finished with a personal prayer and thanks to God, then put my notebook away.

I finished out the summer strong and ready to start sophomore year. I hadn’t thought about the prayer at all, not wanting to ruin it.

The first day rolled around and I was in Graphic Design class when the teacher directed us students to write our name down on paper, and make it look like a name plate.

First Day Of School

I looked around at the name plates made by peers at my table and one caught my eye. It read:

Cayden.”

Surely this couldn’t have been my long lost crush from elementary school...right? He turned and looked at me, and that’s when I knew it was him.

I asked him if he remembered who I was and he said yes, with that cute smile on his face.

Cayden was my childhood crush! We had the same class together in first and second grade.

I had the biggest crush on him, but me being the girl with a severe case of ADHD and him being shy proved to not be a good mix.

Nonetheless, my crush on him lasted up until he disappeared and moved to a new school. I literally hadn’t seen him since second grade.

From the moment we reconnected that day in Graphic Design class, we became inseparable. So inseparable that two weeks later he asked me to be his girlfriend.

The Day He Asked

It wasn’t until that day, that I realized he was who I’d prayed for all along, and I didn’t even know it. A classic case of how if it’s meant to be, it will be!

It’s so unfortunate that my (ex) best friend wanted him first.

But that’s a story for another time...

dating
Like

About the Creator

Mesi J

Hi! I’m new to Vocal.

I’m an 18 year old black girl from Texas with an awesome boyfriend, a strong mother, and a jovial little sister.

Where do I begin...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.