Humans logo

How I handle being in a long-distance connection.

Long-distance connections can work if both people really put their hearts into it.

By Kevin ValentinePublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
How I handle being in a long-distance connection.
Photo by freestocks on Unsplash

Long-distance connections are hard, we all know that. But they are not impossible.

There's this man I've been talking to for about four months now. I live on the west coast while he lives all the way out in the east. We met over social media, and while we are not "boyfriends", per say, what we have between us is very special and well-established.

"Unofficially official," as I like to call it.

Regarding our connection, the most common questions I receive from friends include, "How are you so down for a guy so far away?", "How can you be so attached to a man you have no physical interaction with?", and "What if he's fooling around behind your back?"

Well for starters, I have always been planning to move out east. Whether or not this man and I work out, I'll still be relocating over there in the near future, anyway.

As for the lack of physical connection, he and I actually made an agreement: We want to spend a full year of vibing out and getting to know each other before we discuss the subject of meeting in person.

I know that sounds crazy, but the reason we are able to agree so strongly about this is because we are both dedicated artists working to build something for ourselves before building a life with someone else.

By Kon Karampelas on Unsplash

For myself, I am a writer working on a dark-fantasy series consisting of comics and short-stories. My dream is to become like my idol Stan Lee: he created the Marvel Universe, and I'm creating what I call the KRZ Universe. Until I am making a stronger income as a writer, building my series is my number one priority.

And what we lack in a physical connection, we make up for with our mental and emotional connections. I've never felt so secure with another man before. I feel us growing closer and closer with every new day. I've never gotten so excited just to hear from somebody, and at this point, literally every time I get a notification from him, it's like I feel his presence touch my heart. It's a touch that feels better than the way any man has ever touched me physically.

And lastly: How do I trust that he's not sleeping around?

Like I said, I've never felt so secure with another man before. Trust is one of the biggest things that holds a relationship, long-distance or not. The lack of trust is one of the biggest reasons that relationships fall apart, but believe me when I say this:

I trust this man and he trusts me.

By Jamie Street on Unsplash

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.