Humans logo

How I Feel About My 72 Yr Old Mother Being a Third Wife in Her 7th Marriage - Gordons

Gordons talks about his very unique mother

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

This is single-handedly one of the most interesting stories I've heard in a long time. Gordon's mother sounds like the main character of a story yet to be written. When Gordons during his latest conversation with the women at Wake Up Nigeria was asked how he felt about his mother recently getting married, Gordons went into telling us a lot about his mother and her very extra-ordinary life and it is certainly worth the read.

Here's what Gordons had to say about his mother who at 72 year old got married for the seventh time as a third wife.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Gordons on 'Wake Up Nigeria'

"Last year your mum got married, how did that make you feel? How did you feel when she introduced you to her husband?"

No, there was no need because they had lived together for twenty years. So I've been visiting her, seeing the man there. You know, it's just old people who fell in love at a very very old age. My mum is a vibrant lady. A woman who was very pretty in her prime. Every man wanted that woman. For your information, that was not her first husband. That was not her first husband, that was like her sixth husband. My mum is the [Elizabeth Taylor] of Nigeria. She had like six husbands before that man. So that can tell you how beautiful she was. That she's given birth to like 8 [children] and she still could get married. So I don't understand when young girls these days come and say "I no see man marry", really? My mum got married at 72. I was there. It trended. And they were happy. And I know for sure. That man, my mom is the third wife. My mom is the third wife and she's the oldest among the three. But he prefers to live with my mom. Because my mom has what we call charisma when it comes to feminism. If my mum wants to quarrel, she dresses up for the quarrel. I'm not kidding. She would go and make up and do everything, you will think she's going out. No, na quarrel. So by the time she starts to bring all those things, the husband would just be like "cool down na". Cuz the thing that makes men drive women from home is the fact that you're not even appealing in the first place. So they say in our place that when you're quarrelling with your wife and she's going, don't look at her backside because you might say come sit down make we talk [laughs]. But a lady has to be a lady. My mum has been a lady, she didn't go to school but she's been a lady. When I was growing up, I saw young men coming to toast my mom. She knows how to package herself very well.

Gordons at his mother's latest wedding

What do you think about this story? It's so interesting to me. Gordons' mother really sounds like such a character. Let me know your thoughts on what Gordons said by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.