Humans logo

Why I Switched to Gospel Music - Waje

Waje gets candid

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read

Nigerian singer Waje is one musician who has been around now for a very long time. Throughout her career, Waje has been a primarily secular artiste giving us such hits as Coco Baby, Onye, Vibes, In The Air, So Inspired, and many more.

Now, the hitmaker is out with a Gospel project, a new album called Unbroken. The 9 track project is a gospel project from top to bottom, and for an artiste whose previous releases have all been secular, this is quite the new terrain for the singer. Now, during a new interview with Afrocritik, Waje opens up about why she has decided to switch to gospel music for this project, and what the future in this lane looks like for her. Here's what Waje had to say.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

"After a full career in secular music, why Gospel now?"

I have always wanted to make a gospel album through my 19-year career, as you may know, I am a Christian and am never shy to declare or share my faith. Why now? Let’s just say it was time and all the people I needed to make it happen came through.

"Do you think this is a trend? Secular artiste now transitioning to gospel. And what seems to be the inspiration for this?"

No I don’t think it is a trend. I don’t really believe in tags. Are there Secular bread or Gospel bread, or secular tomatoes and gospel tomatoes? I believe everyone’s journey is different as we all have individual purpose as designed by God, but I am sure God will use whom/what he qualifies to pass a message, as he is God Alone.

"Are you fully transitioning to Gospel, or would you be doing it alongside secular music?"

I am not a gospel artist or a secular artist. I am an artist who is a witness of God’s grace, love and mercy! This gift I have and the light I carry will shine through. If you run through my catalogue, you would notice I am particular about keeping clean lyrics, and that won’t change. Yes, I will be more intentional going forward, but I will still sing folk stories songs, love songs, inspirational songs, worship songs and more.

Unbroken is a witness’s testimony of God’s love, Grace and Mercy, and how that has kept me unbroken. We recorded this through 2021/2022. My goal is that the message it carries heals, delivers, and uplifts the listener’s faith in God. That it brings you to a place of worship in awe of my saviour.

"Has there been any support from other Gospel artistes, or the industry so far?"

Yes, but definitely could be waaaaay more, but I understand everyone is connecting with the songs differently, and maybe some are still testing the spirit behind this album.

This is not a phase. This is a girl who is witnessing about God’s love that keeps her Unbroken.

What do you think about Waje's new entry into Gospel music? Will you be supporting it, or do you think she should stick to the secular lane? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jide OkonjoWritten by Jide Okonjo

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.