Humans logo

How I Attained a Nasty Nickname from My Own Crush, and How You Can Avoid It

I’m not kidding, I actually did.

By Kathy NguyenPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

It all started back in grade 8. I was mad in love with who I thought I’d marry, cheesy. But I mean I was 13, and had zero clue on what love actually was! Anyways, I was embarrassed about my feelings towards my crush, let’s call him T, because I’m too lazy to write "my crush." "T" was that kind of guy who only exclusively liked Asian girls. He said, “I want to connect with someone just like me.” I thought it was a great idea! I mean, I’m Asian, he’s Asain, that’s perfect! Plus "T" was every girl's crush (or at least a phase.) Back to my embarrassment, I only told certain people, but I kinda told the wrong person. I was talking to a friend, and he wanted to know who I liked, me being super stupid, I told him, “Oh I like ‘T’ but I’m just doing it to prank him.”

It wasn’t true, but I was afraid the word would spread. I could’ve lied or something crazy, but I was too much of a goody two shoes. Though he was "T’s" best friend, and thinking that it would be best if he told him. In my perspective, that would’ve been a great idea, two bros watching out for each other from this weird girl who’s trying to troll one of them for their "love." Anyways, "T" was pretty mad, because apparently he knew all along I liked him, but now he "knew" that I only liked him for jokes, which I did not attend. So he started to be mean. Calling me names. It low key hurt, but it was my fault. "T" started off with “molecule” as in speck, nothing basically. Now you must be thinking “WTF? Are you serious right now? Molecule is not even that bad as b**.” Agreed, but I didn’t mention how he used it in what he called “roasts.” To be honest, not really roasts, but more like shitty comments on how I look and behaved.

“Look Molecule is coming, she’s wearing her cock sweater today.” (TNA if you don’t know) It might not be offensive to you, but I was 13, and highly vulnerable at comments like that (supppeerr sensitveeee). It soon gradually updated to “person” because I told him to use something else since “molecule” was annoying. He said some other things about it as well. “Person is blah blah this or blah blah that.” But one day, one special day, he crowned me with the name.... MEGAPHONE. Now what’s the meaning of this weird nickname? Well I’m actually a really loud person. So loud, teachers have sent me to sit in the hall as a child. But I decided to be a bit more mature, and just go along with the flow. And my nickname has ever since been megaphone, and it’s now a inside joke between "T" and I. Yes after these many years, we’ve became friends and talk like mature teenagers, most of the time.

But how do you avoid this "name calling" especially from your crush???

Easy. Never talk smack behind his back. Sometimes we get nervous and don’t know how to say things when it comes to our crushes. Someone could say, “OOOO you like Jerry!!!” And you could respond, “EWWW HE'S FLIPPING GROSS!” That line right there could be mistranslated in someone’s ears and they could tell your crush, and might leave them feeling bad. Sometimes some boys get defensive as well, and since you "hurt" them, even if you don’t mean it, they can do some kinda mean things depending on how their social vulnerabilities are.

Anyways this is my little story, and I hope you enjoy!

advice
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.