Humans logo

How I Almost Got Shot Because of Joke I Told - Basketmouth

Basketmouth recounts near death experience because of comedy

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Earlier this year, we all bared witness to the slap that Hollywood actor Will Smith gave to comedian Chris Rock on the Oscars stage because of a joke that the comedian Chris Rock made about Will Smith's wife, Jada Pinkett Smith. The slap heard around the world opened up the conversation about jokes, comedians, and if jokes from a comedian on stage should be taken personal.

Nigerian comedian Basketmouth had something similar happen to him, only that his case was a 100 times worse. During a new interview that Basketmouth hadd with Inkblot's Meet & Greet podcast, he opened up about a time earlier on in his career when he cracked a joke and got a gun pointed to his head in the University of Ibadan. It is quite the wild story that Basketmouth recanted. Here's what he said.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Basketmouth on Inkblot Meet & Greet podcast

The revelation of the story happened when Basketmouth was asked, "Have you ever bombed on stage?", he responded:

Yes, I've bombed na. Several times. It's normal. And the bombing, I won't say I bomb entirely. So the thing is sometimes I wanna change my style of delivery so I'm trying a new style and if it doesn't work. The bombing is just that the jokes might fall flat or some of the jokes might not land. But back then, the reason why it was a little bit hard for me to bomb was because if you insult me, I will destroy you. And that's the truth.

I don hit somebody so bad, the guy put a gun to my head. In UI (University of Ibadan), yeah. It's that bad. Like I went in! So I was performing and the guy was disturbing me so I was like fuck this shit, and I went in, pow! Dude, the things I said, I would kill myself. So the more I was doing it, then the guy that was controlling the light now put the light on him. I now dissected this guy, ah! His guys were with him, they now moved. So that was the part, because people were turning and laughing at him. Ah! I felt bad for him but then he pushed me. Ah, I said things oh. But that thing didn't stop me.

"Are you calmer now in life? That whole 'if you push me, I push you back a million times', is that still your personality?"

Yes. Yeah. But I evolved, the thing is those kinds of performances, it only happened in universities. When I moved to Lagos, you know, it's corporate gigs. It evolved, I'm not too aggressive anymore but if someone comes for me in any way, except I don't think it's relevant, I'll hit you man.

Can you imagine having a gun pointed to your head because of jokes that you made about a person? Ha! These comedians should be careful oh, it's really not everybody that takes jokes in the same way at all.

What do you think about Basketmouth's story, and do you think it's right for people to attack comedians if they feel personally insulted or attacked by jokes they make? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.