Humans logo

Why I Disappeared for 6 Years - Joseph Benjamin Finally Speaks Out

Joseph Benjamin explains his absence from Nollywood

By Jide OkonjoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Nigerian actor, musician, and TV presenter famous for hosting Project Fame, Joseph Benjamin, was by far one of the most biggest and most promising actors in the industry especially in the early 2010s. Joseph's demeanor, looks, and speech pattern made him standout in the industry and he was dominating in his field, appearing in a number of blockbuster movies, and being heavily bankable.

But then, Joseph Benjamin seemingly disappeared from the Nigerian movie industry. He began appearing in random episodes of American productions and one or two productions overseas. So what happened? Why did he leave the Nigerian movie industry for about 6 years? That is what Nigerian TV host, Ebuka Obi-Uchendu sat down to ask the prolific actor during a new episode of Rubbin' Minds. Here is what Joseph Benjamin said happened.

**Before reading on, please make sure to like and follow my Facebook page (Jide Okonjo) so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

Joseph Benjamin on Rubbin' Minds

"You were everywhere, movies, music, TV. And then for a lot of people, it looked like you just sort of dropped off the face of entertainment here. We started seeing you appear in things internationally. But for a while it looks like you just went off the radar. Was that family related? Was that a personal decision? Did work stop coming? What happened?"

Work was going real fine, it was a personal decision. And at the time, I know a lot of people thought I had lost it. They were confused. Trying to connect why I would make such a move. Like, you have such an amazing career going for you here, why would you just up and leave and go to an industry where you literally would have to start afresh. Like what informed that decision? I had gotten to the point where I wanted more. And the industry at the time then was going through I would say a remodelling. Trying to redefine itself. And for me, I felt like I had gotten to that point where there was not anymore growth for me, cuz you're the only one who would obviously know how far you're going. So I wanted to explore and I had always wanted to explore the industry out there knowing that it would be a task. So I said "let me go" and people would say "oh you have a career here", that's the thing, I'm the career. Wherever I go, the career goes with me. It's not tied to a specific geographical location. And that's how I moved and for like six years. I literally had to start from the beginning, but it was good. Good in the sense that it took me away from all that I had known to make me understand that there are other dimensions to this thing that you've thought you acquired so that you can grow. Cuz if you hold on to the old, there would be no way to see that there is room for improvement to become better. So that break helped me grow.

Joseph Benjamin is now making his way back into the Nigerian movie industry making appearances recently in Mo Abudu's directorial debut and a number of other movies he says we should anticipate. What do you think about Joseph's decision to leave the industry, and what do you think now that he is back? Let me know your thoughts by leaving a comment either below or on my Jide Okonjo Facebook post.

That's All.

I hope you’ve had fun. Don’t forget to like my page (Jide Okonjo) if you don’t already for more stories like this, the fun never ends

To catch up on other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day.

celebrities
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.