Humans logo

How Anne Frank Taught Me How to Write a Diary

I did learn from the best!

By Lumos LeviosaPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Image/Wikimedia Commons

I have a plethora of favorite authors but one particular writer will always have a special place in my heart — Anne Frank. It was during a 4th-grade history lesson that I had first heard about Anne Frank. A few days later, while scouring the bookstore for new books to read, my eyes immediately fixated upon the book with the picture of a girl staring right at me. It seemed as if her beaming face itself could narrate an entire story altogether.

I pleaded with my mum so that I could buy her diary (She was reluctant to buy it because it wasn’t placed in the Young Adults or children’s section, sigh!). I then told her it was a part of a school project where we had to write a summary of the book. The ‘school part’ seemed to have convinced her and voila. I gaily walked out of the bookstore, gripping the book close to my chest.I began reading as soon as I reached home. This was the first diary entry that I was about to read, and I honestly didn’t know what to expect. After reading the first few pages, I paused reading because I had one major problem — I didn’t own a diary. I set the book aside and barged into the kitchen to seek the expert advice of my mother.

Me: “Mom, I want to write a diary. Can we go back to the store to buy a new notebook?”

Mum: “What do you want to write a diary for?”

Me: “Mum, everyone at school is writing a diary. Will you please let me buy a new notebook”

Mum: “Well in that case, why don’t you use the notebooks that we have right now”

Me: “I want a fancy one, the ones we have at home are just plain school notebooks. Please I really want one!!!”

Mum: “Okay, okay we’ll go tomorrow then”

The next day I bought a new diary for myself. The first store that I visited, didn’t have diaries that appealed to my whimsies — they just didn’t seem right. After about half an hour of foraging, I had found my perfect match! It wasn’t checkered with red and pink stripes like that of Anne’s diary but it did look somewhat like Anne Frank’s.

Image/Dessidre Fleming/Unsplash

Here is a picture of my very first diary (Yes I still have it, it is my most treasured possession):

My very first Diary

And thus began my diary writing journey. I wrote about my school days, mainly about how my friend had occupied my seat during lunch, squabbles with my younger brother, and about how the teacher had praised me for my work in school.

The more pages I read, the more I wrote in my own diary. When Anne started addressing her diary entries to Kitty — Anne’s imaginary friend, even I did the same. When she wrote about her birthday party with her friends, I wrote about a school tour with my friends. When she talked about her sister, Margot, I wrote about my younger brother. When she talked about boys, I gave a detailed description of a few boys in my class. I even bought myself a fountain pen to write my diary entries. I basically re-wrote her diary and tailored it according to my own lifestyle.

I couldn’t imitate her writing from the moment she wrote about going into hiding. So then instead of trying to imitate her, I began writing to find my own flair for writing. I didn’t write every day but I made sure that I didn’t have huge gaps in my diary. I made an effort to express myself more clearly, I tried to pen down my innermost thoughts and fears. The further I progressed through the book, the more I connected with her. I absolutely admired how she would pour her heart onto the paper, how she gave such a detailed description of the Secret Annexe — I could almost feel myself living there. I felt as if I knew Peter Van Pel’s shy demeanor, Mrs. Van Pel’s dry humor, and Margot’s ‘very diligent’ nature. I could make out their personalities by merely reading Anne’s words. When Anne yearned for freedom, casting glances towards the Chestnut Tree in the attic, I pined for her.

It was Anne who taught me that diary entries can consist of a splash of emotions all at once. Earlier I thought that writing a diary entry was simply listing out the events of the day. Upon reading Anne’s diary, I understood the power of words, I understood how they could literally pierce someone in the heart. I learned that “Paper is more patient than man”. I admired her resolve to remain cheerful even in dire circumstances.

To be honest, when I read her diary for the first time I didn't understand it deeply. Later when I re-read the diary in my teens I was able to appreciate its essence. It was remarkable to witness that a young girl just at the age of 13 could write with such a mature voice. I was absolutely knocked off my guard by her kindness when she said that she felt so selfish by staying safe in hiding while the other Jews were being massacred in masses. On reading her excerpts, I learned to be more empathetic of others’ needs. I admired her for her passion to do something in life and for her resolve to stay true to her roots. The way she embraced her true self while acknowledging her flaws fascinated me. It is quite rare for a young girl at that age to practice introspection on such a high scale. She taught me that I am the first person to notice my flaws and that only I have the sole power to change and learn from them.

I know what I want, I have a goal, I have opinions, a religion and love. If only I can be myself, I’ll be satisfied. I know that I’m a woman, a woman with inner strength and a great deal of courage!

As I grew older, I could relate to parts of Anne’s life — the way she felt misunderstood and alone. When she had written that her pillow knows how much she cries, I literally cried myself.

“Leave me in peace, let me sleep one night at least without my pillow being wet with tears, my eyes burning and my head throbbing”

By the time I reached the age of 18, I had read her diary many times. Just as Anne’s writing appeared more mature as she grew older, so did mine. I could see a gradual change in my entries from the petulant whinings of a child to mature adult-like conversations. I felt myself grow as I read about Anne growing. Every time I read her diary, it was as if I had found something new. Anne never failed to surprise me. For every single word she wrote, I could almost feel the multitude of emotions she must have felt at the time of writing.

I know that I haven’t stated anything out of the ordinary in this article that isn’t already known to people. But I just wanted to share how much Anne had contributed to my writing journey.

She was my idol, growing up and she still is.

Thanks for reading

Originally Published in How Anne Frank Taught Me How to Write a Diary

literature
Like

About the Creator

Lumos Leviosa

Aspiring to reach out the world through my thoughts || Software Developer || Mental Health Advocate || Part time Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.