Humans logo

Hot Stank Cheese

The smell almost destroyed my home

By Abigail Freeman Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Hot Stank Cheese
Photo by Alexander Maasch on Unsplash

Lactose intolerance. For some it is a mild inconvenience, for others, it is a tragedy. Josh’s intolerance falls somewhere in the middle of the spectrum which means the occasional dairy treat. So, when he suggested that I pick up some cheese to pair with a newly discovered summer sausage, I happily complied. Now, I did not want to waste this limited opportunity on boring cheddar or plain swiss – oh, contraire! I went with an aged asiago and smoked havarti. Believe me, I was quite proud of myself. However, when I revealed my purchases, Josh was less than impressed. When I opened the packages, he responded as if he had been accosted – and from his perspective, I suppose he had. Asiago does not have the most pleasant scent, especially if you are not accustomed to the subtleties of cheese culture. It is described on the interweb as having a fresh, milky, slightly floral smell – really, it smells like the socks of someone who just ran a marathon in August. Several days had passed since initially opening the cheeses. That detail is only relevant because the aroma of asiago does not dull with time.

One afternoon, Josh had stepped into the shower and left a show that he was watching still running on tv. I took up watching the show, which featured 4 Italian men in a setting featuring a significant amount of pizza. We circle back to – dairy is not commonly consumed in my home. I immediately began to crave pizza. Really, the idea of melted cheese is what is most intriguing. Some of you have realized what is about to happen. I am less than proud of the actions that follow.

I melted what was left of the Asiago and Havarti. I did. I melted it in the microwave, on a plate, nothing else with it. And then… I ate the puddle of melted lactose happiness. Every single cheesy, smelly, stretchy, warm bit of it – shamelessly!

But then. I realized that the smell of hot stank cheese was very heavily in the air. But! Like all cooking smells, I thought it would just vanish in a short amount of time. I should also inform anyone reading that I actually have a terrible sense of smell. Josh, however, has the same sense of smell as Ol’ Red from that song by Blake Shelton. So, again, in my naive little brain, I thought the hot feet smell would not be a big deal. Actually, I thought “maybe he won’t notice”.

Josh emerges from the shower looking like a lobster and immediately notices. He begins pacing the house in a towel, frantically looking for something – he is unsure what. I sit silently, watching. Then begins the barrage of questions: “what is that smell?!”, “what happened?!”, “what did you do?!”. I am no longer silent – I have started to giggle and he knows that I have caused the horrendous odor that has permeated our home. He then begins to guess “DID YOU MELT A GI-JOE IN THE MICROWAVE?!”, “IS THERE PARMESAN IN THE VENTS?!” sheer panic in his voice. I am crying. I can’t breathe. I truly want to answer him but the laughter is too overwhelming. He then describes to me, before I can confess my crimes, the torture that has occurred since he last saw me. See, the melted cheese stench had made its way into the cloud of steam within his shower. Having gone into the shower to cleanse his body, he assumed that the odor was coming from him. He described scrubbing his skin raw but the smell was still there. So, he starts sniffing for whatever could be the culprit. He ended up sitting on the floor of the shower in order to reach his feet and smell his toes – none of which smelled of microwave melted cheeses.

As he described the chaos in the unpleasant steam cloud, I began to have intense stomach cramps from laughing. Between gasps for breath, I managed to explain how I caused the offense stench that has now been absorbed into every soft material in the house. The confusion and horror that came across his face was incredible. He was baffled by the idea of eating hot cheese and absolutely furious that it led to the removal of layers of skin. Beyond that, my shame and delight at the entire ordeal was utterly puzzling to him.

It took hours of pumping fresh air in the house, and a few loads of laundry to make the house smell fairly normal again. I will now be ordering pizza for delivery whenever my next craving strikes.

humor
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.