Humans logo

His Final Act - Father

Atonement and Forgiveness.

By Isaac SmythPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The guy who had it all.

It 's been two days since the news. It still hasn't sunken in quite yet. The words, "are you okay?" and "you're so strong" continue to echo in my ears on replay. I try not to let it get to me, it's only been two days. I loved the guy and all he has done, for all of us I mean. Just because I'm his kid doesn't change the fact that so many other lives and hearts were touched and changed. It's just my sister and I after all, the real family. Not the family that was known without blood, but through childhood. Upon arriving home I'm greeted by my cat as usual with a simple meow here and a purr there. "I missed you too buddy, it's been a rough day for Papa. Now I have to worry about my own Papa watching me all the time. Ain't that something to think about." I walk over to the kitchen counter and fix myself a glass of tap water from the sink. My phone rings and my eyes widen waking me up from my grief. "H-how in the..." On the phone in bold letters, the contact name "Dad" appears across the phone. Hesitant, I answer. A long pause goes on for what feels like minutes, but is merely seconds. I gulp and speak first. "Dad..?" The voice on the other line cripples with static and I can hear the words form but never fully finish. "I don't know who this is but this is a very cruel prank whoever you are." The static lessens and a familiar voice speaks calmly over the phone. "Go to the bedroom and look on your nightstand." More static arrives as soon as the voice starts again only to be what I assume is the next direction. I cannot hear him. Instead, I put the phone on loudspeaker and put it in my pocket heading to my bedroom to investigate. With the static getting louder as if the volume had doubled, I can see a small black notebook on my nightstand. Mind you, I've never owned a book in my life, let alone a notebook. God forbid I actually write about something in my life, am I right? The small black notebook has a black strip that wraps around the opening part of it with and a clean sleek look around the edges. I don't really have any business with a nice book like that. Odd enough that it's in my room though. I notice something green poking out of the book, almost stacks of green. The static on my phone lessens once again and the voice speaks. "Open it" Hesitant, I walk towards the small black notebook as the static returns to it's double decibel. I open the notebook only to find that there are no pages, but instead stacks of $100.00 bills. I gasp, "This can't be mine, there's no way." The static lessens again and the voice speaks in a singsong way. "You better make sure it's all there, silly goose!" Raising my eyebrows I take my phone out of my pocket. The static lessens and the call drops. "Silly goose? Dad would call us silly geese all the time...weird." I obey the dropped caller and count the money. "$100...$500...$1,000...$10,000..." My hands become sweaty, making counting a little easier. "$15,000...$20,000! How did this much money fit in such a tiny thing!? Is this all...mine?" The small black notebook, now empty of all currency, begins to smoke with letters forming blue and bright. They read, "You've found what I've left for you guys. I'm sorry it's this and not me in the flesh. This is from my secret stash that I never got a chance to give this to you or your sister when I was alive. Now, look behind you for a surprise." I froze as the room suddenly grew colder. I could feel a presence surrounding me, protecting me...releasing me of all grief. "Hey there bud.." "That voice.. why does it sound like.." My voice quivered and a pit had grew in my chest. I can feel the tears forming but I'm afraid to blink. I don't want them to escape my eyes. "It's alright bud, I'm here but only for a minute or two. You don't have to turn around, you don't have to look at me. I just wanted to say that I'm sorry. I'm sorry for leaving your sister and you here without me. The life that I chose may have not been the best, but it was the life that I wanted to live. I hope the money can get you and your sister a couple years in College, I know it's not much but... I love you both and I hope that in death you can both respect that I don't regret my life, not for a second. I know you especially don't agree with a lot of what you knew, I just want you both to know..." I turned around, feeling the final moments linger in the next words that followed. My face dried with streaks that were once my tears, staining my white shirt with droplets of grey. "You guys were the best thing to ever happen to me. Tell your sister I love her." His spirit started to fade starting at the feet, disappearing as if the wind was taking him away again. "I love you bud, take care of everyone for me." My voice cracked and I couldn't help but smile and sob at the same time. I'm an ugly crier, after all. "I will Dad, we share the same name and I look like you after all. I love you too!" His spirit faded fully and the wind moved it's way through the cracks of my home, a whisper made it's way through. "That's my boy" Echoed in a fading tone. I collapsed on the floor, unable to fully process what happened. The memories of all of us together flooded my mind. "Thanks, even in death you still found a way to help someone. Thanks Dad, I forgive you for leaving us. It was something nobody could control. I'm glad were you able to live your life up to this point. I hope you feel content wherever you are now." I pickup my phone and collect my emotions. Taking a deep breath, I call my sister. "Hey sis, sorry to bother you. You won't believe what I'm about to tell you."

family
Like

About the Creator

Isaac Smyth

Just a guy who loves his man, cat, and family.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.