Humans logo

Hidden love

Pathway to destiny

By Sherry jacksonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1

When I opened the door to the “trick or treaters” on Holloween night in my small home town in Vermont. A darling little girl dressed in a pink ballerina costume stood there looking up at me with tears in her eyes. “She said in between sobs, I want my dad!” I put the Holloween candy dish down bent down and took her little hands in mine.

Where is your daddy. I asked.

I don’t know, she replied

I picked her up. And brought her inside.

You can have some hot chocolate watch tv with my two boys until we can find your dad, I said.

I got some hot chocolate pop corn and sat her down on the sofa with my two boys Frankie 10 and Larry 8 to watch a Disney movie.

Who, I thought to myself would be so careless to let such a cute little girl no more than 3 years old get lost.

I didn’t have to wait long to get my answer for the door bell ringed and as I picked up the candy dish to give out more candy thinking it was more trick or treaters, I opened the doors to a tall good looking man with a worried look on his face.

- [ ] I knew instantly he was the little girl’s father and before he could say anything I boldly acclaimed ,

- [ ] Your daughter is here!

- [ ] How did you know? He asked.

- [ ] He turned and sat her sitting with my boys.

- [ ] I could see the relief in his eyes.

- [ ] Thank you he said as he rushed over to her

- [ ] Daisy, he said. He took her in his arms and kissed her .

- [ ] He turned to me, and said I couldn’t find her I. The crowd suddenly got so big and when I looked around she was no where in sight.

- [ ]

- [ ] I’m sorry daddy, she said gave him a kiss on the cheek. I thought the man in front of me was you!

- [ ] That ok honey! As long as you are ok!

- [ ] Daddy can I stay and see the movie?

- [ ] He looked at her and then at me.

- [ ] Well if it is okay with—

- [ ] Sally - Sally Moore. I replied.

- [ ] Of course!

- [ ] He put her down and she went back to the sofa with the boys and eating her pop corn watching the movie.

- [ ] I looked at him and he looked emotionally worn out.

- [ ] It looks like to me you could use a cup of coffee and maybe some of my pumpkin pie.

- [ ] He smiled at me

- [ ] That sounds really like a good thing. Right now! He said.

- [ ] I turned off the porch light so the trick n tester would know I have no more candy to give and he followed me into the kitchen .

- [ ] He sat down on the stool at the kitchen bar. We talked and he told me that he had just moved into the neighborhood and his medical clinic was downtown.

- [ ] I noticed he wasn’t wearing a ring. He saw me looking at his hand.

- [ ] Im a single parent if you were wondering.

- [ ] I looked understandingly at him snd , so am I!

- [ ] That was how we met and he became like a good friend. Because he was always just dropping by.

- [ ] I invited him and Daisy over for Thanksgiving big dinner.

- [ ] My mom and dad came also.

- [ ] After dinner my mom and I were washing dinner dishes when she stood smiling at me with a knowing happy look.

- [ ] What’s wrong? I asked.

- [ ] When I realized what her smile meant , I assured her that we were just friends.

- [ ] She said with a merry twinkle I’m her eyes, “friendship have often turn into more!”

- [ ]

- [ ] I was getting use to having his around and I was very attracted to him but was afraid to think or entertain further than that.

- [ ]

- [ ] Daisy wanted to go Camping with me and the boys and insisted her dad come also.

- [ ] As soon as we got the tent up it began to rain . We got inside the tent and the kids went to sleep right away.

The rain sound so good tapping on top of the tent.

Then there was a loud clasp of thunder and I grabbed his arm. He laughed and took me in his arms-He looked in my eyes and I saw something that wasn’t there before and suddenly to my surprise he kissed me.

That we whispered to each other how we were afraid let the other know of our attraction toward each other because we were afraid of chasing the other away, due to us both recently separating from our other relationships.

We slept in each other arms that night. It was a dream come true to both of us!

We got married on Christmas Day with all the kids in the wedding. We said our vows in front of a tall decorated Christmas tree in city hall.

I turned and my eyes met my mother’s and she winked at me. I threw her a kiss with my eyes and we both laughed.

My love and I got into a horse driven carriage and parades down Main Street where the whole town had turned out to cheer and celebrate with us in the blocked off town square!

dating
1

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.