Humans logo

Heroes

My Hero

By CyberWaddlesPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

When it comes to hometown heroes, or heroes in general, people think heroes like Spider-man, or more personal like their parent. My own hero is my boyfriend. Indeed that sounds very cliche, but here is the reason behind it.

February of 2020. I was recently getting over a break up with my ex because our relationship was toxic. It didn't help my emotions that it was Valentine's day. I was single again and very lonely. My sister recently moved and decided to go to the same school as me. At the end of the school day, I was so ready to just go home and hide in my room. However, that was not what my sister had in mind. As she hopped in the car, she says "I got you a date!" I look at her for a moment.

"Uh...what?"

"I found a guy for you," she answered. "He's totally your type."

"Come on already. I literally just broke up with my ex not even two months ago," I said, rolling my eyes. " And you're already setting me up on dates without asking me?"

"Relax sis," she said, giggling. "Just trust me. He is a great guy I promise. I already gave him your snap." I just sighed. If only my sister at least asked me first before jumping into it.

As we were heading home, I noticed that I already received a message.

Must be the guy she was talking about, I thought. So I responded. Within the hour of talking to the guy, I already was happy to meet someone new and someone who was so funny to talk to and someone who liked things that I liked. After talking to the guy for about a few weeks, he asked me out on a date. It was the first time I have been on an actual date in a while. Since my ex was the only other guy I went out on dates with, it certainly felt different, but in a good way. The date went really well and I genuinely enjoyed his company. We went to the mall together and got food. Most of the time, we sat and just talked which was really nice. It felt like we had a special connection from the start. Our first date was so successful, he asked me out on another date a week later.

The second date was more romantic. We had a candle-lit picnic by a lake, with cheesecake from The Cheesecake Factory. That was the night he asked me to be his girlfriend. I said yes, because within that month or so of us talking and getting to know each other, I felt more like myself. He made me laugh and smile so genuinely. He was there and gave me chances to be a better person.

We have been together for about two years, and he still manages to make me smile and laugh, even at the most random small things. From his dumb jokes to random things that we see on the street. The reason I said my boyfriend is my hero, is because he is the one person that makes me smile when I am sad. He always tries and does things to make me feel better because he cares and he is there for me when I need him. My boyfriend is the person that understands a side of me no one else does. I love him with all my heart and am so grateful for him everyday. He made me to the person I am today and makes me want to be even better.

love
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.