Humans logo

Her

A Glass of Merlot

By Haley FryPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
1

From across the dimly lit restaurant, I saw her. Face framed by auburn hair, she sat motionless; staring into her empty wine glass. She seemed entranced, entirely lost in the shimmering lights reflected in the glass. I wondered if she was nervous, just as I was. How long had it been since I had been on a date? Had it been just as long for her? I swallowed the anxiety that had made its home in my throat and made my way towards her.

When I reached the table, her brown eyes met mine and a smile stretched across her face. “You must be Alex,” I managed to squeak out. She stood up and hugged me, “That’s me, and that would make you Hazel”. I nodded and took a seat across from her after she motioned for me to join her. “Have you ordered anything?”, I asked her, gesturing at the empty glass. “I haven’t,” she replied, “and if I do...that remains to be seen”.

I could tell that my confusion had spread across my face and she lightly chuckled as though she had a small secret she was unwilling to share. When a waiter approached the table, I ordered water and cocked my head at her. Her eyes met mine and she told the waiter that she was fine...for now. "So, Hazel. What do you do for a living?" I grimaced as this was a question that was often met with me ending up back on a dating app the next day. “I write. For video games specifically”. She smiled warmly, “Anything that I might have heard of?” “Nothing major yet. I am still breaking into the industry...building a portfolio. Maybe someday. Your turn, what do you do?”

"I am a bartender. Well, more than that. I own a bar here in town. The Simple Rose.". My eyebrows raised in surprise. Maybe that explained the lack of an order? "I would have happily gone to your bar if that would have made you more comfortable ordering." She laughed; it was a sweet sound and her face became more beautiful as it rang out. "Oh, no. That has nothing to do with it. I just wanted to get to know you without any of that. I am surprised you ordered a water. You are of course, welcome to drink". The condensation dripped down my water glass as if it was nervous that she had noticed. "I just wanted to get to know you...without any of that," I replied with a smile. She answered me with a soft smile of her own.

For the next few hours, we sat at our table. Sharing stories about recent dating app endeavors, then the loves we lost and the ones we left behind. At one point, she ordered a basket of fried mozzarella sticks, asking me to join her in treating ourselves a little after I mentioned I had been dieting for a while but couldn't stand the thought of ordering a salad at a restaurant. She told me that she had been married once before, that things had ended amicably and that they were sharing custody of a six-year-old French Bulldog named Brutus, while enthusiastically showing me dozens of pictures on her phone. I told her that I had also been married but that we had been far too young to make that decision at the time and that, as all things do, we had changed as we had grown.

Gradually, the number of other patrons at the restaurant dwindled. We split our admittedly small tab and she asked me if I was ready to call it a night or if I would like to join her on a walk. We stepped out into the warm summer evening and I smiled at her, "I would love to walk with you”. She linked her arm in mine and smiled, “I have the perfect place to walk to”.

The entrance to The Simple Rose was lovely and the pink neon sign was welcoming. The laughter and music flowing from the interior could be heard from the street, louder than the restaurant but somehow still more intimate. We entered together and a chorus of hellos greeted us. A whole table of regulars shouted her name. The people here loved her and I could tell by the blush on her cheeks and the beaming smile that she felt the same.

Alex hugged her bartender, who I learned was named Miles, and introduced me as her new friend, and told him we'd be occupying the two stools at the end of the bar. He smiled at her, eyebrows raised as she dragged me further into this place she had built. As we sat down, Miles approached us and she asked Miles to bring us both an empty wine glass.

“What do you think of the place?”, she asked brightly. I looked around; it was lively. The music coming from the jukebox was upbeat and several people were dancing. She had abandoned traditional tables and had put coffee tables and leather couches along the walls. It felt more like a special club than a bar. I looked over at her and met her eyes, “It feels like home. Look at those people. They’re comfortable here. They’re comfortable with you too. That was some warm welcome”. A small smile played at the corner of her lips.

"Do you like wine, Hazel? Do you have a favorite?" "I have to be honest, I don't have a lot of experience with wine. I have visited a few wineries and enjoyed sampling or sitting on a patio with friends sipping a glass...but I don't think I have enough experience to have a favorite. I have always been more of a whiskey girl". She looked at me, her eyes softening. "I have a couple of favorites. I think my favorite is probably a nice Merlot. It is very smooth, easy to drink. Easy to get lost in. It is a particular favorite when I want the night to last a while; I can sip and savor it without worrying that it may lose its flavor and sweetness as the night goes on".

I stared at her, admiring the way her eyes sparkled as she spoke. She was passionate, I had learned. I had learned so much, so quickly. The largest group of regulars shouted goodbyes as their taxi arrived. The night had gotten dark and when the door swung open, a small chill blew through the bar. "Today was nice. It is always sad when good days come to a close but I am sure you have work tomorrow, don't you," she asked me, a hint of barely disguised disappointment in her voice. I checked the clock on my phone; it was late but I also felt a small pang of sadness as the realization set in. Miles made his way towards us at the end of the bar as I stared into the empty wine glass. The neon lights danced across its surface and I took a deep breath. "Can I get you guys anything or are we closing up, Alex?" As she began to answer him, she locked eyes with me once more. I smiled at her once more, gazing at her softly, and answered for her instead, "Miles...I would really like a glass of Merlot".

lgbtq
1

About the Creator

Haley Fry

Just a small town fantasy author with a dream. Currently a Twitch streamer part time.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.