Humans logo

Heather

She's the one with that timeless style.

By Dynasty ReddPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Heather. 05/03/21

Written by Dynasty Redd

   How does she look so great in the sloppiest clothing? She shops at the thrifts. Pairs flannels with distressed jeans. Hair is always messy, but beautiful. Her desire to just dress comfy somehow catches my eye. Her beauty is timeless. How does someone put so little effort into their clothing choices, and yet still be the most unique individual in the room? There's just something so special about the 90s reject aesthetic.

   They call it grunge, and it's the most loveliest of styles I've ever seen. You can see them through crowds of regulars and their personality just somehow sticks out like a sore thumb. That fashion will never go out of style. This person is one I want to be my best friend. This person has the most down to Earth music tastes. Such a beautiful company. The style is more than just clothing. It's mannerism and poise. Its dark and yet so internally bright. Black, red and yellow never looked so nice.

   If I were to stick to one aesthetic for the rest of my life it would be 90s grunge. It's the skaters. The artists. The musicians. The soulful ones. This girl and her comfortable outfits make me fall in love with a time I barely missed.

   Her name is Heather. She's a 23 year old art student. I met her at a local coffee shop. She sat alone sipping her frappe while drawing, earbuds in each ear. I couldn't help but to hear the loud music filling the space so close to me. I sat with her and told her how beautiful she was. I've never seen eyes light up like that before. Like lights on Christmas morning. Her beautiful green eyes filled the whole room with ambiance. She says she's never been complimented on her style the way I expressed. "I'm just a regular girl living through my music". I told her she's beauty, she's grace. She's all I ever think about.

   How could such a simple style be so marvelous? So incredible? So strong with just dark clothing? The people like to dress the way they feel. She wears all dark and she feels like fireworks. She walks alone at night, scrolling for a song that makes her feel alive. She never catches peoples eyes the way she does mine. Her friends wear whatever is trending and listen to songs everyone knows. She's an outcast, my little black sheep. We bond over our matching styles and share music. Oh, how beautiful it is to exchange songs that impact you so dearly. Everytime I hear these lyrics she shared, all I can think about is her. Heather. Her style might not be trending anymore, but her spark will always remain. I hope she's doing alright these days. I hope she falls in love with life again and meets people at the coffee shop to share music with.

The ones in the darkest clothes are always the ones with the fire in their eyes. That deep, burning, passion to fly. Style isn't just the fabric you decorate yourself with. Style is a reflection of your core. She's the one with the straight face who just wants to dance in the rain and skate all night. But nobody would know her that way just by taking a glance.

She made me fall in love with everything. She made me rethink everything. Now I can't stop listening to the music she shared on our walk home the night we met. Thank you for being you and showing me how amazing it is to be free. Style is an expression of character, and she definitely had the most desirable character I've ever seen before.

friendship
1

About the Creator

Dynasty Redd

Nineteen year old artist from Florida ♡

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.