Humans logo

Heart to heart

Following your destiny

By Sherry jacksonPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
2

Dear Dr. Myron Yeager,

I want to thank you for taking the time for guiding me at a critical time in my life toward my dream as a writer.

Slipping into my 40’s with five children a single parent and desperately frightening to fulfill my goal of graduating from college, you literally took my hand and propelled me as a writer.

You read my paper with tender care even though these stories poems did not relate to my classes with you.m shared your wisdom.

You ignited that flame inside of me as a writer in my romantic poetry class dramatically teaching about other writers that burn with a deep need to create and give birth to great masterpieces such as Shelly who wrote Mount Blanch!

With bellowing words you engraved and glorified not just their greatness but the humanistic need to communicate what they saw snd felt sharing it with other and connecting life to life with all fellow man the beauty they envisioned.

It was you that suggested I write for the college newspaper.

The staff really didn’t know what to do with an older person but as creative minds do, they quickly put me in charge of covering the campus club of older adult going back to college.

When I became ill enough to have take a semester off you stayed in contact with me encouraging me to not give up.

Then when I did return I saw how students came to you and trusted you and how you took just as much time with each one of them as you did with me, caring about their future and indirectly the future of mankind.

Your life was totally dedicated to helping students achieve their dreams . It was important to you as my writing was to me.

You were always gracious and a gentleman. I totally grew to respect and honor you in my heart,

After graduating I worked at a local newspaper and became a front page community writer. Maybe it was the example you gave to me as I wrote many articles of profiling outstanding individuals that I was able to look deep in their life and see the greatness of each one of them and successfully tell their stories.

My editor actually to my surprise I found out later in life became the screen writer who wrote “The Elf”

who somehow had that same caring feeling that I saw in you.

My path as a writer led me to my surprise to becoming a publicist which took advantage of all the other skills I had accumulated in my long list of odd jobs and eventually I started my own business in publicity becoming substantial in the world of entertainment .

Thank you, Dr.Yeager for taking the time to look deep in my heart and feel my need to write and supported and boosted me onward.

My love for writing has sustain my hope and joy in life.

Now at a even later stage of my life I’m challenging my ultimate dream of becoming a successful romantic writer.

Thank you for caring enough as my English professor for not judging not discouraging and having the wisdom and compassion, and by no means, do I believe our encounter was ,coincident, there for me at the critical turning point of my life. You gave me hope and instilled in me the never give up spirit.m therefore helping me to follow my heart which in turn allowed me to always feel that inner satisfaction of walking proudly my chosen path as a writer.

Sincerely yours,

Your devoted student

friendship
2

About the Creator

Sherry jackson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.