Humans logo

HeartBreak

You live and you learn

By Lourdes RiosPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Having your heart broken is like having your soul taken away from you. You give so much to a point that there is nothing left. What is left after a heart break? Sadness? Depression? Anxiety? I opened myself up to a person after hiding in my shell for so long. And for what? Heartbreak? What I recall from my relationship is that everything seemed good. I thought we were fine. But from their perspective we were not. How so? They claim that I was at fault. That I was hurtful and mean. When all I did was care, (which I showed in many ways) I now realize that this person grew up around violence. Their home wasn’t all peaches and cream, which I can’t blame them for. You can’t blame someone for how they are, when they were raised so poorly. Parents should teach their children what love is, rather than teaching them how to love violence. Nobody is to blame for how they were raised. But you are to blame when you repeat the same mistakes knowing that is not what you want for yourself or your significant other or even your children. It’s heartbreaking. Being committed to someone for 2 years only to realize that they don’t know what love is, is heartbreaking. How can I teach this person, when they believe that they already know? I can clearly see that this person does not know love when they treat themselves so poorly. They do not hold themselves high. I am heartbroken with this person. I want to care for this person but I cannot continue to hold this persons hand and guide them every step of the way. Sometimes you have to let people learn on their own. Especially if they do not want help, there’s only so much you can do before it’s time to let go. My time has come for that. There is so much I have done already, where there is nothing else I can do. I have been pushed down, and neglected. I have been cheated on and lied too. I have been abused physically, emotionally and mentally. I am not perfect, I have made my mistakes as well. We are both to blame, but I am not to blame. I was committed, loyal, honest, and most importantly I loved with everything I had. And now I’m left with nothing. I have no friends, no life outside of my home or job. I associate, but still I am lonely. I have no problem being alone, but being lonely is always painful. I lost everything including myself. Heartbreak is hard but I promise it gets better. This is not the end of the world. My life is not over. We live and we learn. Trial and error. I am here and I am focused. Heartbreak is temporary. Do not let your heartbreak get the best of you. Use this as a push to get on with your life. Better things are always around the corner, just as you let something or someone go, something good appears. Heartbreak.. it’s a life lesson that we all end up dealing with and it’s up to you to learn and grow from it. Have your moment of sadness, and then wipe your tears and continue walking your own path. Don’t let someone else’s path intervene with yours. It’s okay if you want to walk the same path as someone, but don’t let this persons path overrun yours. Heartbreak.. it’s not always a bad thing

breakups
1

About the Creator

Lourdes Rios

To be or not to be..

Creating like there is no tomorrow

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.